Broccoli Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I love this recipe! I did make a few modifications. Instead of swiss cheese, I used authentic gruyere. I substituted a few shallots for the onion, and added 1 tsp. of nutmeg to the sauce. I found it slightly on the saucy side, as opposed to firm, so I think next time I will add another couple of eggs. However, the basic structure of the recipe is wonderful - it lends itself perfectly to any adaptation. I prepared it the night before and put it in the fridge, and took it out half an hour before I baked it. My guests absolutely raved over it - I served it with a brunch, but it would go well with any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
Fantastic! I don't use canned soups in recipes when I can avoid it (too much sodium and can't stand those preservatives and such) so this is a PERFECT recipe that you can make the healthy way for your family! Delicious and easy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
add garlic power and cheddar cheese instead of swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
This was tasty. If you follow the directions you get a wonderful cream sauce. After baking it I found the texture of the cheesy mix to be a little like cottage cheese, I think this could be avoided by letting the dish cool for a couple minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
Excellent recipe!! I cut it in half and made it low-fat (used I Can't Believe It's Not Butter, fat-free cheese & skim milk) and it was STILL delicious! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Very good, if you like swiss. I steamed the broc. in the microwave...worked out fine, Scaled the recipe down to serve 4 and followed the recipe exactly. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
The flavor was delicious especially with the swiss cheese. I used frozen flowerets to make it easier and everyone loved it. I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was good. We had no leftovers.. I did cook 1 cup of rice in the rice cooker and added the rice in the dish. I also didn't use as much butter as it called for. I loved that this was made with no processed ingredients. I looked along time to find a broccoli bake with no fake cheese or canned soup. Bravo! Family enjoyed it. Oh, I also added some garlic and skipped the eggs all together! My husband doesn't like eggs and after I got so far into the sauce, it was thick enough that I thought if I added eggs he wouldn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
I really like to take this to carry-ins. It's relatively simple and people seem to love it. I use sharp cheddar cheese instead of swiss. I also mix it up the night before, throw in frozen broccoli and bake it in the morning and it seems to come out fine. It sometimes takes longer to cook if the broccoli isn't thawed yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
Was slightly bland. If I were to ever make this again I would had a thin quiche crust to the bottom. The broccolli and cheese are a nice mix but something is missing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States