Broccoli Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by dianneher
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I made smaller amount, cut in half. used cheddar instead of swiss. Was really good and easy to make. Would be good with added chicken or ham chunks. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianneher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I first made this dish last year for Christmas dinner and it became an instant hit with family. This year for Thanksgiving I put it into a smaller but deeper container to save space in the oven with the other dishes. DON'T DO IT - it was a little runny on the bottom. The flavor was still very good but for me texture is also very important in food and I feel it baked better in a shallower (9 x 13) pan than the deeper one I used this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZEAL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Our family loved this! My father in law wanted cheesy broccoli for Thanksgiving, so we took a chance on it. I think cheese variations of it would be fun to try next. I was disappointed that there was so much butter in it - in hindsight, I don't think it was vital. Also, I think this recipe could have used 10 cups of broccoli, or if chopped smaller, even 12. Overall we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This is the best broccoli csserole I have ever made. However, I always substitute sharp cheddar cheese, I have never tried it with Swiss. I first made this 3 yrs. ago for Thanksgiving. When I told my mom what I was bringing she said, "Oh Lisa, I don't like broccoli. But if that's what you want to bring..." Not only did she love it, but she BEGS me to bring to every family gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I added blue cheese in addition to the cheddar and I think it helped. Next time, I will leave out the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
My husband and I loved this. True, it is more like a quiche, as other reviewers noted, but that didn't stop us. I used a bag of cheddar cheese instead of swiss, because it's all we had - otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. Mmmm! Warms up well later for leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Loved it! Made some changes, though: I didn't have Swiss cheese on hand, so I substituted with equal parts cheddar and mozzarella. I also beat the eggs in with the milk, and added altogether. (I also added almond slivers). Then, when it was done, before adding the broccoli, I added 1/2 cup of Feta cheese to compensate for the sharpness of the Swiss cheese. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loki1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I love this recipe b/c it doesn't rely on processed ingredients. I usually cut it in half and put it in an 8x8 dish. I use whole-wheat flour and whatever real cheese I have on hand. To those who found it rather bland, try adding a little nutmeg when you put in the salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I made the mistake of using froszen broccoli since I had it on hand. It was good, but the broccoli was a bit tough as there was alot of the stalk/stem. Next time I will use fresh broccoli. My family enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
So delicious, but very rich. I use half butter and half olive oil. I think you could reduce the butter as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States