Broccoli Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This is the best broccoli csserole I have ever made. However, I always substitute sharp cheddar cheese, I have never tried it with Swiss. I first made this 3 yrs. ago for Thanksgiving. When I told my mom what I was bringing she said, "Oh Lisa, I don't like broccoli. But if that's what you want to bring..." Not only did she love it, but she BEGS me to bring to every family gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I added blue cheese in addition to the cheddar and I think it helped. Next time, I will leave out the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
My husband and I loved this. True, it is more like a quiche, as other reviewers noted, but that didn't stop us. I used a bag of cheddar cheese instead of swiss, because it's all we had - otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. Mmmm! Warms up well later for leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Loved it! Made some changes, though: I didn't have Swiss cheese on hand, so I substituted with equal parts cheddar and mozzarella. I also beat the eggs in with the milk, and added altogether. (I also added almond slivers). Then, when it was done, before adding the broccoli, I added 1/2 cup of Feta cheese to compensate for the sharpness of the Swiss cheese. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loki1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I love this recipe b/c it doesn't rely on processed ingredients. I usually cut it in half and put it in an 8x8 dish. I use whole-wheat flour and whatever real cheese I have on hand. To those who found it rather bland, try adding a little nutmeg when you put in the salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I made the mistake of using froszen broccoli since I had it on hand. It was good, but the broccoli was a bit tough as there was alot of the stalk/stem. Next time I will use fresh broccoli. My family enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
So delicious, but very rich. I use half butter and half olive oil. I think you could reduce the butter as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Somewhat bland and would be better without, or with fewer, eggs. It would be better classified as a madeover quiche than a casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Very good, very easy. Microwaved the broccoli for five minutes (as mentioned by others), and it worked great. Used bread crumbs on top. Husband also loved this. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I made it in cupcake pans and they poofed up at the top... it was wonderful! I don't think I would add a single thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greatfoodaddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States