Broccoli Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Delicious. To make it gluten free I substituted wheat flour with 1 and a half Tbs each of amaranth flour and garbanzo bean flour. I used an extra Tbs of flour then called for to avoid the thin sauce some reviewers complained about. I also stirred my roux much longer then called for. My sauce turned out so thick once the cheese was added I couldn't mix it in to the veg easily. Next time I'll either use less flour or stir for less long. It was tasty though. I made some other variations: added steamed green beans to the broccoli. Sauteed half a red bell pepper diced small slowly over low heat along with 6 chopped baby bella mushrooms, and scallions. Roasted half a cup of crushed almonds which I threw on top of the combined steamed and sauteed veggies. The sauce was mixed into all this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
My father loved this recipe but others thought it was just ok. Possibly because they just didn't like swiss cheese? I'll try it with cheddar or possibly a mixture next time. Good recipe though and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
My family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I served this last night and everyone liked it. I cut the recipe in half (something I do when I'm trying something new) and got in trouble when there were no seconds! This will make it into my regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canakat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Turned out FABULOUS! I used frozen broccoli and gouda cheese.... mmmmmmm. So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
OMG! LOVED IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joan k

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I made a smaller version of this recipe (6 cups broccoli, 2 Tbsp. Butter, 1 Tbsp. Flour, half an onion, 2 cups cheese, 1 cup of 1% milk, 1 egg) and it came out wonderfully. We served it at a dinner for four and still had almost half of it left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I'll need to try this again...mine turned out nothing like the picture above. The taste was pretty good but the look was just awful...I was hoping it would look more like the picture and come out in "brick" form rather than runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This was the best recipe for Broccoli casserole! I made it for Thanksgiving last year and it was delicious! I doubled everything so I could make more and we ate the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I cut the recipe in half, it would of been way to much for a family of 6. I don't like swiss cheese so I used a mixture of cheddar and M.J. cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States