Broccoli Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
It's okay. A little floury. I don't know if I'd make it again. The cheese doesn't stay nice and melty as it cools. It gets rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was good. We had no leftovers.. I did cook 1 cup of rice in the rice cooker and added the rice in the dish. I also didn't use as much butter as it called for. I loved that this was made with no processed ingredients. I looked along time to find a broccoli bake with no fake cheese or canned soup. Bravo! Family enjoyed it. Oh, I also added some garlic and skipped the eggs all together! My husband doesn't like eggs and after I got so far into the sauce, it was thick enough that I thought if I added eggs he wouldn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Good 'basics' to recipe- here's what I made: Onions- sauted with garlic instead of steamed; Steamed broccoli tossed with onions and sesame seeds; sauce - I added English mustard, Italian herb seasoning and cheddar/mozzarella cheeses finally for last 5-8 minutes in oven, I'd added chopped walnuts and some extra cheese. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I don't know what I did wrong, but mine turned out watery and the cottage cheesy. I went over the recipe again and I did everything as it is written, so I don't know what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was just OK for us, nothing to write home about. Added a clove of fresh minced garlic to try to bring up the flavor a bit, but was still lacking something. Maybe next time I'll try a more robust cheese like a sharp white chedder; swiss was just too mild a flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I think this is delicious! The only things I did different were that I sauteed the broccoli for just a few minutes (rather than steam as recipe says). I wanted it to remain nice and crunchy after baking so I decided to saute. It was turned out perfect and still had a nice crunch the next day when reheated. Also, I used a mexican cheese mix rather than swiss. Will make again! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I like the fact that this recipe does not call for the standard can of cream soup found on the grocery store shelf as we are trying to eat less processed foods in our household. However, I found that I needed to add some additional spices in order to give it a bit more flavor. I started off using a little garlic powder, then added some onion powder and just a small pinch of cayenne pepper. If you use the pre-cut broccoli pieces from the store, you should cut them up into smaller pieces. Also, we are not fans of swiss cheese so I ended up using cheddar instead. Overall, a tasty recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Oakley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I love that there was no canned soups or processed cheese in this recipe! I did have to make changes since I didn't have Swiss cheese and I can't eat onions. I left out the onion and used cheddar rather than Swiss cheese since that is what I had but I would love to try it with Swiss sometime. I also added a dash of hot sauce and a squirt of Dijon mustard (since I add those into broccoli cheese soup and they go great with the cheddar cheese) and topped it off with buttered bread crumbs before baking. I forgot to add the eggs but it still turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This is a really good, the only reason I am giving it four stars is because I think it calls for a bit too much butter. Next time I make this I will cut down on the butter and take out the eggs so I can use it as a sauce over some potatoes. Thanks for sharing this, I love that it doesn't call for canned soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This was pretty good overall! My roommate really liked it; I found it a little rich, but pretty satisfying. Ours came out a bit liquid-y, but I wouldn't be surprised if that was because I threw in mushrooms. (They needed using up, man.) I think this could be really good with noodles, too; I might try it that way in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States