Broccoli Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
i liked how easy this dish was to make, it looked pretty when it came out of the oven. i really wanted to like this dish but it was a little to rich for me. My husband said it was like eating a stick of butter. My daughter is crazy about broccoli but she just kind of picked at it and didn't eat much of it. if i had to do it over, i think i would probably lessen the topping and add in onion or some other vegetable with the broccoli. i would also think about just using fried onions instead of the crackers. the cheese was also just too... it just screamed CHEESE. don't get me wrong, i love cheese but this was over kill. It would probably do better with milk or canned soup such as cream of mushroom or chicken in addition with a lesser amount of cheese mixed into it. the casserole also needs different spices in my opinion... at least some garlic and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I think about this Broccoli casserole almost as an American classic. It's quick as a wink to whip up, easy to travel to a pot luck and great for large gatherings. Our family prefers whole Broccoli florets for more substance and better presentation. The Velveeta cheese melts into a creamy smooth sauce and the rich buttery crackers are a classic topping. Can be prepared one day ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia  Garreaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Very good. I did make a couple of changes based on other reviews. First, I cooked the broccoli according to the package instructions and drained. I cubed the cheese (used 2% Velveeta) and mixed it with the broccoli. Also, I added a couple shakes of onion powder to the cracker crumbs. I may try cutting back on the butter next time since it seemed a little greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Very good, only used 1/2 stick of butter though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Very easy recipe and delicious. I used fresh brocoli instead of frozen I would add a bit seasoning to pop the flavor, but it was great overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindsMom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Thanks for the recipe! Very delicious, and so easy.. especially since I'm a college student living by myself. I just used regular marble cheese, made all the proportions smaller and also added some chopped carrot. Turned out very nice, thanks again. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I used fresh broccoli, so I boiled it for 5 minutes and drained it before adding it to the casserole. I also used real cheddar cheese (shredded) and added a couple tablespoons of softened cream cheese. It was REALLY yummy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I just made this dish today and took it to a bbq at a friend's home. It was the hit of the party. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Proud Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This is a delicious, simple and classic broccoli casserole recipe. First I cooked broccoli according to package directions and drained. I cubed velveeta cheese and mixed with cooked broccoli. Seasoned lightly with salt and pepper. Crushed a whole sleave of ritz crackers and mixed with melted butter. Sprinkled cracker/butter topping evenly over top of broccoli/cheese mixture and baked for approximately 25 minutes in 350' oven. Turned out absolutely fabulous!! Broccoli was tender, casserole was moist and very cheesy and cracker topping was outstanding. Thanks for a wonderful recipe. This is a definite crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proud Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This is so delicious! Added 1/2c cheddar, 1/2'd the butter and crumbs and it turned out fine. Bake 10 min first just cheese and broc. Flatten the top, sprinkle crumbs first and then drizzle the butter for even, golden brown top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States