Broccoli Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. Use fresh broccoli instead of frozen if at all possible. I also added a bit of cheese to the (Ritz) cracker topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Quick and very easy. Great for a weeknight or Sunday dinner. Altered recipe a little by following advice from another review which was to layer broccoli and cheese. Great idea. Will definitely make again...maybe once a week :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
My family didn't like this much at all and we all love broccoli casserole normally. It was pretty bland other than the overwhelming ritz cracker and butter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Big hit at Thanksgiving!! Glad I doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This dish was a huge hit at our Thanksgiving dinner. Here are my changes: I steamed the broccoli just enough to taw, once cooled and chopped and mixed in a bowl with the cheese and put in a casserole. I only used half of the butter and mixed with 1 roll of crashed crackers. I baked covered for 20 minutes and uncovered for an additional 20 minutes. I had no idea it would turn out so great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This tastes buttery and leaves an oily spot on your plate. I'd suggest either doing away with the butter or drastically decreasing it. You're already getting plenty of butter flavor from the "buttery round" crackers. So either switch those crackers to ground up saltines or bread crumbs heated in a little butter or use just the buttery crackers--but not both. If you don't, this recipe comes out to 25.6 g of fat per serving--way too much for a regular recipe I'd want to use. Try using Smart Balance Spread or some other transfat-free spread instead of butter as well to decrease the fat. Going with lower fat buttery crackers wouldn't have hurt the overwhelming butter taste, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I always made a broccoli casserole sort of similar to this, but it contained Cream of Mushroom and bread crumbs...so does my green bean casserole. So I decided to try this one instead for Thanksgiving for a little variety...my husband was skeptical because he loves my normal holiday broccoli concoction...but this was a hit. I made it slightly differently, boiling the broccoli until thawed and a little soft, I drained it, put it back in the pot, added a little butter, salt and pepper and then the Velveeta, melted it all, put 1/2 in my casserole pan then put a layer of cheddar cheese, then the rest of the broccoli, and the crackers and butter. I think my order of favorites was the turkey, than this, than the sweet potato pudding I made. The crackers and butter make it. Thanks for sharing! I will make this every major holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Very impressive with rave reviews from many, many people. We used 1 package of Broccoli, 1 cup of All-Bran Multi-Grain Cracker Crumbs (place crackers into a blender for ease), reduced the butter to about ¼ cup, along with using 1 cup of shredded Colby Jack Cheddar Cheese for a twist. The multi-grain cracker crumbs gave it that extra flavor that was missing. Delicious – Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c2milehigh

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Bland and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
i liked how easy this dish was to make, it looked pretty when it came out of the oven. i really wanted to like this dish but it was a little to rich for me. My husband said it was like eating a stick of butter. My daughter is crazy about broccoli but she just kind of picked at it and didn't eat much of it. if i had to do it over, i think i would probably lessen the topping and add in onion or some other vegetable with the broccoli. i would also think about just using fried onions instead of the crackers. the cheese was also just too... it just screamed CHEESE. don't get me wrong, i love cheese but this was over kill. It would probably do better with milk or canned soup such as cream of mushroom or chicken in addition with a lesser amount of cheese mixed into it. the casserole also needs different spices in my opinion... at least some garlic and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States