Broccoli Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This is the best broccoli casserole!!! There are some tips to make it better though if it turns out to dry for you. 1. The best bowl to use is one of those round pyrex bowls with the lid. If you need more then just do another one in a separate bowl. These are the best because they aren't too deep and not too flat. 2. Cook broccoli in pan just enough to thaw it, drain the water then spread brocolli between paper towels on countertop to dab up excess water. It should not be wet. 3. After shredding the cheese, chill it. It's so much easier to handle if you do it this way. 4. Layer broccoli and cheese. Cheese should be the last layer on top. 5. Crush crackers pretty fine with maybe a few little chunky bits. 6. Evenly coat butter, be careful not to pour, but drizzle it until all crumbs are evenly coated. 7. It only needs to be in the oven 20 minutes or until top is golden brown. This should have a nice crispy buttery taste on top and broccoli should be soft, tender, and very cheesy. It should not be dry at all Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
350 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
This is the most requested casserole/recipe at every gathering. Even those who use other broccoli casserole recipes ask for this one. My family recipe uses the same ingredients but different instructions. If you can't find two 10 oz packages of broccoli, use one 16 oz and 3/4 pound of cheese. First cook the broccoli according to package directions then drain well. Cube the cheese (velvetta works best). Cubing is easier if you spray the knife with cooking spray. Mix broccoli and cubed cheese then pour into a shallow casserole dish. Melt butter or margarine and mix well with one roll of crushed round buttery crackers. Spread over the broccoli and cheese. Bake about 20 minutes. Follow these preparation instructions and you will never have a dry casserole or need to add any additional butter, milk or melt the cheese first. This is guaranteed to disappear quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
As always, I read everyone's comments before trying this... I used fresh broccoli, chopped and steamed a bit. I used up the cheese I had on hand (some extra sharp cheddar, and 1/2 a package of the shredded Sargento cheddar-blend). I had townhouse crackers, so I put them in the chopper (to the delight of my 3-yr-old son!), and mixed them with a couple of tablespoons of melted butter before spreading atop the chopped broccoli & cheese mixture. I baked it at 350 for about 35 mins. It was DELICIOUS!!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
This is one of my favorites! I cooked the broccoli in the microwave until it is nice and hot. Drain any water. Then I take 1/2 the butter (apprx 4 TBLS) and cut the Velveeta into cubes and add both to the broccoli. Microwave again, stirring occassionally so that it becomes a creamy broccoli and cheese mixture. Then, I pour into the baking dish and mix the crushed crackers with the remaining melted butter and pour overall. Bake and viola! You've got yourself a GREAT side dish! You won't get any frozen bits and this microwave process speeds things up. I love it and only serve it on special occassions and holidays. GREAT RECIPE LEIGH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This is a classic holiday recipe in my home - and over the years it has become MANDATORY that I make this dish. There are a couple of things that I do differently, however, the first being that I use a 1 LB. (16 oz) brick of velveeta cheese and secondly, I slightly defrost the frozen broccoli and drain the excess water. I then separately melt the velveeta cheese with 1 T butter and once melted, I stir it into the broccoli. The remaining butter (1-2 T) is melted and mixed with the crushed crackers which are then placed on top of the broccoli cheese mixture. The casserole is then baked until golden brown and bubbly. Bon Appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEEFAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This is a great dish! I made mine a little differently. I used 3-4 bunches of fresh broccoli and cooked it. I used the 12oz cube of Velveeta, cubed and 36 Ritz crackers crushed and divided. Mixed the broccoli, cheese and half of the crushed crackers in a bowl & then melted butter & added to other 1/2 of crumbs and topped the casserole with it. Even people who don't like broccoli loved it, including my 9 yr old daughter! Will defintely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
After reading the reviews, I decided to just make it as much as possible like the recipe and decide for myself. I didn't have frozen broccoli, so used fresh and added about 1/4 cp of the liquid that was used to cook the broccoli into the casserole. I didn't have the little round crackers either, so I just used the square saltines-type crackers that I had on hand. Everything turned out perfectly. I don't think that a single thing needs to be changed in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinhais, Paraná, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
If you read the reviews and change the cooking method, this will be great. As it is written, you will have problems. It doesn't tell you to cook the broccoli ahead of time, and if you don't at least thaw it 30 minutes is not going to be enough time to have hot broccoli and melted cheese. If you cook and drain the broccoli first it will turn out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
We LOVE this casserole -- better than even the broccoli casseroles with the rice. This is one of the most requested side-dishes to bring to Grandma's for Sunday Dinner! And so easy and quick! Takes ingredients that I almost always have on hand (American Cheese slices are a good substitute in a pinch!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Honestly, I don't understand what it is about this recipe that would entice anyone to bother making it! I had it at a neighbors house last week and I did not care for it. Processed cheese, frozen brocolli and crackers. I don't understand why anyone would take the time to make a processed/frozen dish of any kind. My advice is to pass on this and go with fresh ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States