Broccoli Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This turned out to be one of the most popular dishes at Thanksgiving. The kids loved it and I have none for leftovers - thats a good sign. Followed the recipe exactly except as suggested by others ... I made sure the broccoli was completely dry after cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is a family favorite for as long as I can remember. We make this for every thanksgiving, Christmas, and Easter. We use a 9x13 inch pan, 3 packages of chopped broccoli, a little over half the big block of Velveeta cheese. I then melt 1/2 cup butter and mix with 2 sleeves of crushed Ritz crackers until moist. I drizzle any leftover butter over the cheese/broccoli mixture before putting the crackers on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I cooked the broccoli first. Used velveeta cheese, cut into cubes, which I then melted in a large sauce pan on the stove with 1/2 the butter. Once melted I stirred in the cooked broccoli. I melted the other 1/2 of butter in a frying pan and then added the crushed ritz crackers and mixed. I put 1/2 the cracker mixture to the bottom of a cassarole dish, Poured the broccoli cheese mixture on top of that, followed by the rest of the cracker mixture on top and baked as instructed below. I gave this recipe 4 stars since I had to make some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Just like old times; thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msdeebee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clinton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I must be missing something because I thought this was not to my liking. I made it just as the recipe said to, and I normally cook quite well, but my family couldn't even get this down without a big glass of milk. Broccoli, processed cheese, and WAY to buttery cracker crumbs. The buttery taste was overwhelming and I usually love lots of butter, but this was just way too much even for me. And a very dry meal as well. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I remember this recipe from church suppers when I was a kid! However, these days I use 2% milk Velveeta and reduced fat Ritz crackers. I also start out with just a little bit of butter, and keep adding only until the cracker crumbs are coated. You can't tell the difference, and it helps reduce the calorie and fat grams intake. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Yep, this is a keeper! I used fresh broccoli, some real cheddar and only 2T butter so I couldn't give it 5 stars. But it was really good! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This was great! I used broccoli and cheese soup instead of cheese food. I also skipped the butter and just sprinkled the crackers over the broccoli and soup mixture. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This was very yummy! I did make some changes but I think the final product is pretty much the same. Instead of processed cheese food, I used a can of cheddar cheese soup. Used fresh broccoli. Crumbled the crackers directly on top of the casserole and dotted around with butter. Used maybe 2 T. versus the 8 the recipe calls for! Very delicious, DB loved it and came home for lunch the next day to eat the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Wow, this was so good. My kids went crazy for it and told me to make it again tomorrow. I did not have quite enough Velveeta so I grated up about 1/2 cup of Gouda and added that too. Next time I will use more crackers or a smaller dish to have more crust. I also cooked the broccoli a bit in the microwave until it was just thawed and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States