Broccoli Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This is a classic holiday recipe in my home - and over the years it has become MANDATORY that I make this dish. There are a couple of things that I do differently, however, the first being that I use a 1 LB. (16 oz) brick of velveeta cheese and secondly, I slightly defrost the frozen broccoli and drain the excess water. I then separately melt the velveeta cheese with 1 T butter and once melted, I stir it into the broccoli. The remaining butter (1-2 T) is melted and mixed with the crushed crackers which are then placed on top of the broccoli cheese mixture. The casserole is then baked until golden brown and bubbly. Bon Appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEEFAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I loved the buttery crackers on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
After reading the reviews, I decided to just make it as much as possible like the recipe and decide for myself. I didn't have frozen broccoli, so used fresh and added about 1/4 cp of the liquid that was used to cook the broccoli into the casserole. I didn't have the little round crackers either, so I just used the square saltines-type crackers that I had on hand. Everything turned out perfectly. I don't think that a single thing needs to be changed in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinhais, Paraná, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This is a great dish! I made mine a little differently. I used 3-4 bunches of fresh broccoli and cooked it. I used the 12oz cube of Velveeta, cubed and 36 Ritz crackers crushed and divided. Mixed the broccoli, cheese and half of the crushed crackers in a bowl & then melted butter & added to other 1/2 of crumbs and topped the casserole with it. Even people who don't like broccoli loved it, including my 9 yr old daughter! Will defintely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Everybody loved this. I don't like broccoli, so I didn't try it. I added milk to make the cheese creamier and garlic and pepper for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This is the best broccoli casserole!!! There are some tips to make it better though if it turns out to dry for you. 1. The best bowl to use is one of those round pyrex bowls with the lid. If you need more then just do another one in a separate bowl. These are the best because they aren't too deep and not too flat. 2. Cook broccoli in pan just enough to thaw it, drain the water then spread brocolli between paper towels on countertop to dab up excess water. It should not be wet. 3. After shredding the cheese, chill it. It's so much easier to handle if you do it this way. 4. Layer broccoli and cheese. Cheese should be the last layer on top. 5. Crush crackers pretty fine with maybe a few little chunky bits. 6. Evenly coat butter, be careful not to pour, but drizzle it until all crumbs are evenly coated. 7. It only needs to be in the oven 20 minutes or until top is golden brown. This should have a nice crispy buttery taste on top and broccoli should be soft, tender, and very cheesy. It should not be dry at all Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
350 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
"The best broccoli I have ever had" That was the review I got last night at a large family dinner. The menu has been changed for Thanksgiving to inculde this as the veggie of choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Definitely a little dry but might be better with a little tweaking. Next time I'm going to try and layer the cheese throughout the casserole instead of just putting it on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
I recommend cooking a day in advance. After it settles for the day warms up nicely.Less sour creamy taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
This was awful. The cooking temperature was way off, and the casserole was dry and unflavorful. I would never make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Weiss

Displaying results 141-150 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States