Broccoli Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
This is the most requested casserole/recipe at every gathering. Even those who use other broccoli casserole recipes ask for this one. My family recipe uses the same ingredients but different instructions. If you can't find two 10 oz packages of broccoli, use one 16 oz and 3/4 pound of cheese. First cook the broccoli according to package directions then drain well. Cube the cheese (velvetta works best). Cubing is easier if you spray the knife with cooking spray. Mix broccoli and cubed cheese then pour into a shallow casserole dish. Melt butter or margarine and mix well with one roll of crushed round buttery crackers. Spread over the broccoli and cheese. Bake about 20 minutes. Follow these preparation instructions and you will never have a dry casserole or need to add any additional butter, milk or melt the cheese first. This is guaranteed to disappear quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
I defrosted and drained the broccoli, to cut down on the cooking time. I also used Ragu cheese sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDA1114

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I loved this recipe! I added some shredded carrots to the broccoli and melted everything in the micro and stirred it up well before topping with the crackers. Used roasted vegetable crackers for the topping. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
WONDERFUL..Be sure to defrost the broccoli and dain well..Thanks, a keeper.(used mexican velvetta..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
tasty! I took the advice of some of the reviewers and half thawed the broccoli. however, next time I will slightly pre-cook the broccoli in the microwave. also, it would cut down on the oven time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stanford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I made this as a side dish to go with the ham on Christmas Day. I put the frozen broccoli in the microwave and this really saved me the cooking time in the oven. I used 3/4 pound of Velvetta Cheese, cut into chunks and stirred the chunks into the broccoli. This was a huge hit. I saw people going back for second helpings! Will definately use this recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Very good! (used shredded cheddar cheese) I save out part of the cracker/butter mixture to put over the top. I mix in the rest of the cracker/butter as well as the cheese into the broccoli. Used 1/4 cup of butter. Spray the baking dish with cooking spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
The next time I make this recipe, I will thaw out the frozen broccoli first. Other than that I followed the recipe and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIALAW

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Excellent recipe! I made it for a dinner party. Many people asked for the recipe. I used 2 glass pyrex dishes, making it one layer. I used about 3 oz of velveta cheese (cubed) so it would be creamy. I top it with about 1/3 cup of sharp cheddar cheese (use more if you like more cheese). I topped with the cracker mixture.Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This is a holiday staple for my family and friends and if I say I'm not making it-watch out! I have a slightly different variation. First, I usually use the packaged frozen Broccoli&Cauliflower.I will defrost the mix in a colander until 80-90% defrosted, which seems to help get a just-right moisture level. Also,forget shredding, it works great if you utiize 1/4 cup melted butter and blend CUBED Velveeta with the butter in a microwave, heating for 30 secs each time, repeat the stirring and reheating until smooth and creamy-creates a thick but smooth cheese sauce and prevents this from being dry. Also, I add 1/4 cup grated parmesan to the cracker crumbs for a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States