Broccoli Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
excellent! Velveeta cheese really makes this dish perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
My family is STILL raving about this recipe! In our area I couldn't find the cheese spread with jalepenos so I just used regular Velveeta and added a couple of tbsp of diced jalepenos. EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I made a few adjustments here and there to make it like old times. I added a can of broccoli cheese soup. The friends and family really enjoyed it, even my one year old daughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This is wonderful and makes a great side dish. Kids loved it! I did use 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese in placed of the processed as I'm not a fan of processed cheese. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This recipe is just like our family recipe as well. When my sister requested broccoli casserole for Thanksgiving and we didn't have the recipe with us, I tried this one being that it looked similar. It turned out great - I left out the celery because several people don't like it, but it was still very good. The only reason I gave it four stars instead of five is because even though it's really good, it doesn't necessarily "wow" me. Still, I would recommend it to a friend and certainly wouldn't be ashamed to serve it for company or at pot luck dinners. It's also incredibly easy and quick to make. And it makes a decent size casserole. Definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
My Mom has made this for at least 30 years, we call it "Green Rice" in my family. This is always a crowd pleaser, and great with ham during the holidays. I've also taken it to work for holiday potlucks - just prepare through step 4, add to your slow cooker, take it to work and let it heat up in the slow cooker all morning, and you end up with a dish that everyone loves. It won't get the crusty top that it gets when you bake it, but it is still very very good. I've always received a positive response when I bring this to a potluck. Also, it is very easy to double this recipe for a crowd. To me, this is a dish best saved for holidays and potlucks. My boss took some of the leftovers home after a work potluck, and his 4 kids loved it! As far as the cheese, it seems like there are people who shy away from processed cheese. I like real cheese too, but sometimes the fake stuff is better in a dish, and in this dish, Cheez Whiz is what should be used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyLoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I followed the recipe with a couple of exceptions: 8 oz. Velveeta for the cheez whiz, I used fresh broccoli since that's what I had on hand, and I added 1/4 cup half and half before baking because it seemed a little dry. Really good. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Very Good- I did make changes. I used chicken base in my water when I cooked my rice. Put everything else plus thyme in my microwave steam bowl. Cooked for 6 min. in microwave. mixed everything, put in cassarole dish, baked 35 min. Very tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Turned out great. Low fat cream of broccoli soup was better for my taste and I used brown rice. I will sure make it again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alachua, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Excellent recipe. I couldn't find the jalapeño cheese, so I substituted 8 oz. Velveeta and added some cayenne pepper. I also added some leftover cubed ham. I froze about 2 servings of the casserole uncooked with the directions written out on the top for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States