Broccoli Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
This is a fantastic recipe. Everyone loved it! I made the following modifications: 1) I used 1 can of cream of chicken & 1 can of cream of mushroom 2) I cooked the rice in chicken broth instead of water 3)Instead of cheese sauce - I used velveeta (heated in microwave w/ milk) 4) I also topped casserole w/ crushed Ritz & combined w/ melted butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
I've been making this casserole for about 30 years now, but instead of precooking the rice, I put the minute rice and an equal amount of water into the mix before baking at 350 for an hour. I also use more onion, but adding minute rice and water eliminates a step, some time, and an extra saucepan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
Thanks, Helen. I used to have this recipe, but lost it. I have been looking for it and your's is the closest I have seen! This recipe is great - I use a small block of velveeta cheese instead of the processed spread. I melt the velveeta with a couple of tablespoons of milk in the microwave. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
GREAT!!! I made the following changes: Used a cup and a half of leftover cooked rice insted of Minute rice, seasoned the broccoli with season salt and butter while cooking, used shredded cheese insted of "processed cheese sauce" and topped with bread crumbs and sharp chedder cheese. Made for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit with everyone!!! This one is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJBEN2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Manchester, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2000
This is another EASY and GREAT tasting dish I picked off of the website to make on Thanksgiving Day. It was the creamiest and perfect! Not too stiff, not too dry or soupy! So easy to make! I used 1 can of cream of chicken and 1 can of cream of mushroom soup instead! But it was still the best tasting broccoli and rice casserole that I've tried yet! No need to look any further! This one is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
It was easy to make the rice didn't have no flavor, so next time instead of water I'll use chicken broth to cook the rice, but everything else tasted good. I'll make it again. Josephine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2000
OOps... I submitted my first review from 5 years ago! Just made this again and had some thoughts. First of all, it is so irritating to read a bad review when the reviewer changed the recipe. You have to judge it as submitted! Anyway, in the quest to always make things easier, I tried the single bowl approach for this recipe. I used minute rice, a can of chicken broth and two more cans of water. Also didn't cook the broccoli. Everything else as stated except for Velveta. If you try this, you will need to melt the "cheese" because the rest of the mixture is very cold and it will not blend right. I melted some and cubed some more and it had the cheesey nugget effect. Oh, also used minced onions. You will need to cook it for at least an hour. Watch for the cheese to brown around the edges of the pan. If you can make the day before and refrigerate, all the better in making the rice absorb the liquid. How ever you alter it, this is a wonderful easy recipe! Thanks to the submitter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
A good, basic broccoli cheese casserole. Added a big heap of fresh garlic. Only had fresh broccoli so I steamed that first. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
I made this for my boyfriend and I one evening. It was FABULOUS. Easy and delicious. I used fried onion rings as a topping (I believe they are made by French's...). Quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MORGGIEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnson, Vermont, USA
Living In: Underhill, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Great! Used shredded cheddar cheese instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States