Broccoli Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
This was a good basic recipe to start from. I modified it to my personal tastes and from what I remember of the one mom made when I was a kid. I added shredded chicken which I cooked in just a bit of ev olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper. I sauteed the onions in buter and garlic and threw in a chopped up a fresh jalapeno(half seeded, half not) for a bit of kick. After the onion mix was ready I added the broccoli and then the soup to the pan, 1 can cream of mushroom, 1 can of cream of chicken...I also added about 1/2 cup of sour cream. when this was warm I added the cheese, I used shredded sharp cheddar. When everything was melded together on the stovetop I poured over the chicken/rice combo already in the pan and mixed it all together. Was very tasty...will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This tasted excellent. Everyone had seconds. I did add water chestnuts to give it a little extra crunch. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
This was an easy dish with good flavor, I added french onions on top for a nice, crunchy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Great recipe--as usual, I didn't have all the ingredients, so I substituted 1 1/2 cups prepared pepperidge farm stuffing mix for one cup of the rice, and I used grated xtra sharp cheddar (1/2-3/4 cup) along with more cream of mushroom soup (and one time I used half-n-half)as a substitue for the cheese soup. I love recipes that seem to turn out great no matter what you do to them (as long as you keep the proportions correct!). Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
yeah. Might be really good with pillsbury croissants on the top or even just bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Absolutely delicious, hot or cold (leftovers). I made this for Thanksgiving last year and will be making it again for Easter this year. Cooked the rice in vegetable broth and substituted Velveeta Light. -- it was a hit! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I also used cheddar cheese and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Made this for a pot luck. Was a big hit with adults and kids. I used a can of cream of mushroom and a can of cream of celery. I also used velveeta instead of cheese spread, I think the flavor is much better with the velveta. Wasn't as good the next day, rice got a little mushy. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Wow. I made this for Christmas dinner, and the family loved it! I substituted cream cheese for half of the cheese whiz for convenience. Also great with steamed fresh broccoli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Very good! Just like I remember my momma's! The only thing I changed was to use cream of chicken soup instead of mushroom, I just don't like mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States