Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This is VERY close to a recipe I used to make and have been searching for-- with the following changes: 1) instead of cooking fresh onion, dried chopped onion can be substituted (the liquids in the dish will reconstitue it,) 2) instead of cream of mush, use cream of celery soup, 3) lose all that salt and just use a little garlic powder, plus a dash or two of worcestershire instead of the lemon juice, and, 4) top with crushed cheez-its instead of Ritz-- the extra cheddar crunch gives the entire dish a great zing (go crazy-- tabasco cheez-its are expecially good.) No need to top with butter, the topping will brown nicely enough. You can adjust the fat content by eliminating the butter and using low-fat soup. I also use the canola Hellman's with no cholesterol. Ditching the salt brings the sodium content down to next-to-nothing, even with the modicum of worcestershire. When all is said and done, what you're really making here is a custard-- that's why you mix the soup, eggs, and mayo together and then fold in the broccoli and the cheese. It should never be runny. The entire casserole can be assembled the day before and refrigerated, then the topping added right before cooking. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
310 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML Key West

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
We loved this casserole. I used two cups of fresh broccoli instead of frozen and added an 8 oz package of mushrooms that I needed to get rid of. I used half light mayo and half low fat sour cream and Healthy Request Cream of Mushroom soup. I also used light cheese to lower the fat. The casserole was wonderful and my fiance ended up eating seconds. I even got my four year old to try it although she decided she still doesn't like broccoli. I will make again for sure as we really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
This turned out just like I wanted. I did make a few changes, but don't we all! I used the 98% fat free cream of chicken instead of mushroom due to personal preference, but other things I did made this side dish 13g of fat/serving instead of the 40g that the recipe results in. I used 3/4 c. light mayo (if you only make one change, make it this one!), 3/4 c. 2% milk Cheddar cheese, reduced fat crackers, 1 T olive oil for the onions, and sprayed the top of the casserole with Pam instead of using butter. Came out tasting just like my grandmother's, and I know she doesn't use low-fat anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Sorry, but this was just awful. Followed the recipe exactly and used decent brands (Campbells soup, Hellman's mayo, Ritz crackers etc) but the topping was horribly soggy and the casserole tasted really artificial. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupin Pooter
Home Town: Sherborne, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This is my all time favorite comfort food! The only changes I made, were to use Egg Beaters, reduced fat cheddar cheese, reduced fat or fat free mayo, reduced fat Ritz and fat free cream of mushroom soup. Since this is such a flavorful recipe, you really cannot tell the difference at all. We did a side by side taste comparison – no difference. Too much time on our hands I guess, but we saved a bunch of fat and calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This is a favorite at my house. I made it one time for a family get-together and then received a special request to make it again at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
Sorry, but this was really yucky. Way too much mayo. I ended up throwing it all out. I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2001
I didn't like this too much. When I think of broccoli casserole, I assume it will have a cheese flavor to it. This had way too much mayonaise for me and i love mayonaise. Everyone said it was pretty good, but I won't make it again. It did look nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
This was yummy! It has a very rich flavor and the crackers on top are the perfect touch. I put all the ingredients together the night before, refrigerated, and then popped in the oven the next day and it was perfect. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
Very tasty! I used fresh broccoli, skipped the salt and used garlic and onion powders, (soup has enough salt on its' own) and to add a little crunch I topped the casserole with canned fried onions. Seven out of the nine kids who were here absolutely loved this dish. Thanks Laura!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States