Broccoli Blue Cheese Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
Excellent. A big hit at our brunch today. My family is phobic about blue cheese, so I used a thick Marie's cheesy dressing. Can't wait to try it with blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
I substituted chopped spinach for the broccoli as that's what I happened to have in the house, used onion powder instead of the thyme & savory, sprayed the pan with Pam instead of using butter, & used a couple Tbsp. of Benecol instead of the melted butter. You can use low fat cheese & dressing to cut down on the calories, if you want as well. I'd suggest layering 1/2 the cheese over 1/2 the veggies & spreading the other half of the veggies on top of the 2nd layer of egg mixture, before topping the dish with 1/2 of the remaining cheese (layering like a lasagna). I imagine that you could break the bread into smaller pieces & mix everything together as well saving some cheese for the topping. This was OK but I guess I like a quiche better than a strata, as this just seemed to have ALOT of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Just made this recipe this morning for a birthday brunch today. It turned out great. I substituted chunky Feta Salad dressing for the Blue Cheese Dressing. I made a very large casserole and there was VERY LITTLE left over. I even gave away my recipe printed out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I really liked this, I used French bread and it poofed up really nice. I would not make it again for people I don't know well as I find that a good chunk of the population is weird about blue cheese and overall the other strata I made with more traditional ingredients went over better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
this was Amazing!!! I have searched for a cheese strata recipe for years. my dear sister passed away and with here went the fantastic Cheese Strata recipe she used to make... this recipe is by far the closest match to it I have found!! Thank you for sharing.... I will make this again and again. I left out the Broccoli and added green onions & peppers!! Very Yummy!! will try adding bacon and ham next time - Great Recipe that melts in your mouth!! A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Relatively easy to make, but I was expecting much more blue cheese flavor. It turned out to be relatively bland. If I made it again, I would add a lot more blue cheese dressing, and perhaps some crumbled blue cheese too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was delicious, but I think the 2nd layer of bread is too much. After pouring the egg mixture over the bottom layer, I looked at it and decided to do without the 2nd bread layer and I am very glad that I did. I can't imagine it with DOUBLE the amount of bread...I think it would be much more bland. I did also sprinkle some blue cheese on top with the cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIGERBER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sterling, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
As is, I rate this three stars,, but it does have potential..I added crumbled blue cheese to it,.. It needs more egg and more seasoning.. and the blue cheese taste wasn't even very strong with my addition of blue cheese crumbles. Update - I had leftovers of this a day later and I must say it tasted much better.the need to more eggs was less evident and the seasonigns had melded.. so I am upping the rating to 4 from 3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States