Broccoli Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
Having read the previous comments about the watery batter, I doubled the flour to 1 C and baking powder to 1 t and the salt to 1 t. They turned out perfectly - light and crispy. The kids loved them dipped in Ranch dressing. Thanks for all the helpful comments and an original recipe with so much potential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
I am not normally a broccoli person, but this recipe turned me. I tried this as a recipe for my husband who loves broccoli and cheese, in return i found and easy and quick recipe that every one loves. One thing to keep in mind is that this recipe uses a lot of oil so make sure you have adaquete room to drain. I used a cooking cooling rack. Places napkins on the rack and below and served on a plate with multi colored napkins to brighten up a bit green and yellow do the trick :) Michelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
This was a very good recipe for the experienced cook. You do have to work with the batter to get it just right. Cutting back on the liquid, adding more cheese. But once you have it it is great. It is worth the effort for a different appetizer. Don't cook too long and have you oil hot hot hot. Best if eaten immediately. Leftovers tend to be greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
Overall this is a good recipe. However, I thought the batter was too runny. I thickened it with more flour. I dipped the broccoli in the batter and also dredged the broccoli in a dry corn muffin mix to give it some texture and flavor and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This was tasty. I did add less milk and increased the cheese and flour a little. That helped keep it together. Nice recipe for a change of pace or a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This has been a favorite for us, anything that can get my 2 year old to eat broccoli! It took a couple of trys to get the batter right, but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
These were pretty good. My batter didn't seem to want to stick to the broccoli. I added extra flour which seemed to help. Besides that, everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
My guests gobbled them up quickly. They were very tasty and I was asked for the receipe! When you cook them, I would suggest dropping from a teaspoon; otherwise, they are too big and resemble a potato pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
These were pretty good but the coating kept falling off and they were a bit too oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carterville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Awesome! The only three things I changed were to increase the flour to 1 cup, the baking powder to 1 tsp. and the salt to 1 tsp. because someone in these reviews suggested it. They came out absolutely perfect and go great with the honey mustard dip. I made them for tonight's New Year's Eve party and I think everyone will like them. The only problem is stopping myself from sneaking them while my boyfriend is in the shower. I've got to save them for the party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Artichoke Party Dip

Get the holidays going with a hot and bubbly party dip.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States