Broccoli Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I love the Broccoli Bites from Bennigan's, and I was hoping this recipe would replicate them, but I was disappointed. Perhaps it's because I baked mine instead of frying, but they were very doughy and not at all like the ones from the restaurant. I think if you go into it *not* expecting it to copy the restaurant, they are ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donut1130

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Awesome! The only three things I changed were to increase the flour to 1 cup, the baking powder to 1 tsp. and the salt to 1 tsp. because someone in these reviews suggested it. They came out absolutely perfect and go great with the honey mustard dip. I made them for tonight's New Year's Eve party and I think everyone will like them. The only problem is stopping myself from sneaking them while my boyfriend is in the shower. I've got to save them for the party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
These were great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIRGOVICKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
These are awesome! I made these for my friends and our kids as an appetizer and everyone gobbled them up, even the kids! I did add extra flour (about 1/4 C.) to thicken the batter a bit more and used a teaspoon to drop them into the oil. I will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POOKY1969

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Peekskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
These have the potential to be very good. I gave it 3 stars for the good flavor, but that is the extent of it. They fell apart when they hit the oil. I guess I should of used more flour for the batter. I don't think I will make these again because they turned out to be too much trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
These were good and I'll make them again. Instead of chopping them, I just fried individual pieces of broccoli. I also ended up having to use a lot more oil, even though I have a small deep fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Thanks for allof the suggestions! I guessed on how much flour to use after I mized the broccoli, cheese and milk mixture together. I also made my rolls with wet hands so they would not stick to me...then I rolled them in dried bread crumbs. VERY YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Pardon the pun, but I thought it sounded pretty cheezy at first, but it was easy to make and my husband and kids RAVED about them!!!!! (I HATE broccoli, and even I thought that they were really good!!!) I cook them on a griddle in a lot less oil and told the kids that they were broccoli pancakes. Guest love them too and I've been asked for the recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
Very, VERY good. But I also thickened the batter and baked instead of fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
Big flavor..big hit! Tripled the recipe for a party and they went fast. The honey/mustard dipping sauce is A+++!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Artichoke Party Dip

Get the holidays going with a hot and bubbly party dip.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States