Broccoli Beef I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This is very good, and I like good, spicy Chinese food. Some people criticize it for not being perfect restaurant quality, but c'mon, all we want is a very easy and quick recipe and this fits the bill. And it tastes great. HOWEVER, follow many of the other reviews and increase the spices, or it will be bland. I doubled the garlic, doubled the ginger (used ginger powder), and added 2t garlic powder (easier than minced garlic). Also added 1/4 t of red pepper flakes (1/2 t for some heat)and reduced sugar(used brown sugar) by about a third. Also doubled the amount of beef stock which still made a nice thick sauce -- otherwise it is thick mud if you use the recommended amount of stock. Cook the meat quickly and remove and add again when sauce begins to thicken so meat doesn't overcook. These really are the recommendations of other reviewers but I thought I'd save you the time of looking at all the reviews. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
801 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Tastey recipe, just needs a little tweeking. Here's what I changed/added: I used 2 tbsp Brown sugar, 4 tablespoons soy sauce, 1/2 tsp ground ginger, 1/2 chopped large onion, 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1 (14 oz can beef broth), and also ended up using 1/4 cup flour to thicken the sauce. I cooked the meat with the broth mixture, instead of seperatley, the meat turned out perfectly. I will make this again, kids and husband loved it, no complaints, just needs something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
I gave this recipe five stars because it is an excellent recipe. I made some changes to my taste, but that's because I like food somewhat spicy. The first change that I made was to cook the round steak until tender before adding vegetables. I also added one sliced onion to the simmering the meat. I also doubled the marinade and the sauce based on previous comments and also because I think I had more meat than the recipe called for. I added chile oil, chili garlic sauce and substituted one teaspoon of sesame oil for oyster sauce. My brocolli beef stood up to the best Chinese restaurants. My husband and I both enjoyed this recipe. It's easy to prepare and a must try. I don't think you can really go wrong because you can add anything you like and it would probably still be good. It has an excellent foundation to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
I am a tired, cranky, hungry college student with a microscopic kitchen and very little time to spend on cooking. This recipe was everything I was looking for - quick, easy, very yummy and healthy. After reading the reviews, I used 14 oz of broth, ground ginger, sirloin, and threw chopped onion in with the beef. I also used frozen broccoli, because I'm lazy. =) The sauce was perfect and was terrific over rice. I think this recipe could be easily adapted to accomodate whatever ingredients you have on hand - and I think it might freeze well (I'm going to make extra next time and try freezing the leftovers to see how it goes). Thanks so much - this one's going to be committed to my memory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
My family and I LOVE this recipe. It's very yummy and satisfying. I do make a couple of changes, though. I use sirloin steak because it's more tender. I use a bit more garlic and finely chopped ginger and I add sliced onions to give it that almost-Chinese-restaurant taste. I also separate some out for the kids and then add red pepper flakes to the remainder for my husband and I and our spicy palates! Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
Wow this was great, I have been making beef broccoli for a while but it was always missing something...it was the ginger...the ginger added just what it had been missing and we loved it. Though I would have to say that after it cooks the chunks of ginger are a bit too much so instead I would use powdered ginger root or used bigger piecies of ginger and just remove it after its cooked. Overall this was a great meal that I am sure I will be making time and time again now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
EXCELLENT!! I must admit that this is the best oriental recipe I have come across! I listened to the advice of others in thier reviews and used ginger powder instead of the root. I also tripled the sauce and will do the same next time. It was great after I finished and me and my daughter loved it. Adding an onion while beef was cooking was a great idea also. Truly a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Henderson, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
Quick and easy and so good!!! I loved the ginger flavor. I did have ginger root on hand but I just sprinkled some ginger powder and it tasted fine!!! The sauce was wonderful and I used Stir Fry Cut up Beef so it was really tender and super convenient! We served this with the new Lipton Asian side dishes...used the Beef Lo Mein. This tasted just like carryout Chinese!!! Thanks so much Sara..this is a definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
Just like the dish you find at expensive chinese restaurants, yet without all the calories and cost. Easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This was okay but nothing special. Per other reviewers, I added chopped onion, additional garlic, bamboo shoots and 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes. Still, little taste and won't be making again. Thanks but no thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 657) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States