Broccoli Beef I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Delicious! Next time i will use another meat, but otherwise this was a family pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This was OK. The sauce, as others have said, was pretty bland. It looked awesome and smelled awesome, but there just wasn't a whole lot there. It could use some more spice and flavor. It's not going to ruin your meal or anything, but it's just extra work if the sauce doesn't add much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Pine, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
It seems a little strong, and also seems like it's missing something, but at the same time, I make it about every other time I make Chinese, and it's still in my recipe box, so it's a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This is a great recipe for a quick week night meal and also serves well as a base recipe to add your own touch...it's a recipe I make on almost a weekly basis
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Not at all like Chinese Restaurant Broccoli Beef; which I assumed it was poorly trying to imitate. Also not good. With some last minute add ins of extra soy sauce, extra ginger, extra sugar, garlic powder, onion powder, and red pepper flakes I was able to cover up the flour taste of the sauce. I plan on trying to make broccoli beef again at home but don't see a reason to try to make this particular recipe work by tweaking as there is little worth saving...I knew it was odd that it called for flour when most asian dishes use cornstarch; should have read the 1 star reviews first. If you make this and also don't like the sauce use a slotted spoon to salvage the good part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Flavor was good but "sauce" is like a gravy, might try with less flour next time if I make it again. Picky family not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Delicious! I eaten a lot of broccoli beef and I must say that this is a pretty good recipe! I scaled this back to serve two people. I used boneless beef short-ribs instead of beef round steak mainly because it is a softer meat and won't toughen up as it cooks. I also stuck the meat in the freezer a bit so it would be easier to slice diagonally with a kitchen knife. Earlier I par-boiled the broccoli crowns in order to cut down on cooking time and also to retain it's vibrant green color. I just added the broccoli to hot, boiling water, turned off the stove and covered it with a lid and let it sit for a minute before draining. To the sauce I added a little more garlic and grated ginger to suit my tastes. I also doubled the amount of sauce because i know we all like a little more sauce over our rice. I browned the meat in the hot skillet for about 2 minutes on each side and quickly removed it to a plate. I added the garlic, ginger and flour/broth mixture and let it cook. I found that I had to add a little more beef stock to get the sauce to the right consistency. I added the meat back along with the broccoli. Within 5 minutes everything was done. The sauce is very tasty and savory with the right amount of ginger, garlic and beef broth. It is not too thick or too thin. The meat is very tender, flavorful and easy to chew. The broccoli adds a nice texture with it's crunch and green color. We enjoyed this dish served along with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This is good but, I felt like it was missing something. The beef needed seasoning or something. The sauce tasted good with the broccoli. The only thing I did different was add seasame oil to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
We love this recipe. I doubled the sauce, used left over roast beef and warmed it with some onion, celery, mushrooms and red pepper. Also added 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes. Had this over some basmati rice. Was awesome. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Simple and tasty. I even made it with ground beef instead of sirloin. I will use this as a standby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 650) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States