Broccoli Beef I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Super fast and easy to get this on the table. All finished in less than 30 min. The most work in this dish was the prep and that was just slicing and dicing. I used a sirloin steak and frozen broccoli. I thought it was rather bland overall and needed quite a bit of seasoning at the table while my husband enjoyed this and had seconds. This needs a little something to make it pop but I don't know exactly what flavor I am missing. I'll make this again since it was such a hit with my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
HOWEVER, follow many of the other reviews and increase the spices, or it will be bland. I doubled the garlic, doubled the ginger (used ginger powder), and added 2t garlic powder (easier than minced garlic). Also added 1/4 t of red pepper flakes (1/2 t for some heat)and reduced sugar(used brown sugar) by about a third. Also doubled the amount of beef stock which still made a nice thick sauce -- otherwise it is thick mud if you use the recommended amount of stock. Cook the meat quickly and remove and add again when sauce begins to thicken so meat doesn't overcook. These really are the recommendations of other reviewers but I thought I'd save you the time of looking at all the reviews. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This wasn't all that great and really lacked flavor, enough though I added red pepper flakes, oniions, more ginger and more garlic. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Added more soy sauce and ginger, otherwise it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This was okay, and it was a quick meal, but not something I'd make for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Made as written, otherwise I would be reviewing my "variation" and honestly I think that would not be fair. That said, the dish was very good but we are not big ginger fans so next time I make it I would just use a pinch of ginger powder instead of fresh ginger. We were happy with the other flavors and didn't think it was to sweet as others did. I would also like to add about 1/2 tsp. fresh ground pepper, more garlic, sliced onion and look forward to trying this recipe again in the near future, with my minor changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I made this twice. Once as is and the second time with the following adjustments. I seared the meat in sesame oil and then removed the meat and then sautéed on med-high a small julienne sliced onion along with the broccoli until crisp tender. Added back in the beef along with the sauce mix. Then proceeded with recipe. For the sauce I omitted the flour and added 2 or 3 teaspoons of cornstarch and substituted brown sugar instead of white sugar. Brown sugar adds to the savory favors of the meat. I probably added more garlic but I typically add more garlic then the recipe suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Good Stuff! I just wish I had a hotter stovetop to brown the meat. I substituted the sugar with honey. At the end I added sliced almonds. This is a repeatable recipe. Now to master fluffy rice. Seems I have sticky rice down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Wonderful! I used venison rather than beef, and frozen broccoli. Like others mentioned, I upped the garlic and used dried ginger, about a half a teaspoon. To cut way back on carbs, rather than flour, I mixed the other ingredients for the sauce, let it reduce, then thickened with a half teaspoon of guar gum whisked in before removing from heat and serving. Will make this one again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
simple, delicious, and limited ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 650) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States