British Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This is the best, just like mum made,save your stale bread and cake and make this, you wont be sorry. from a true BRIT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I have been learning how to make whole wheat bread, and I have had several failures. I hate to waste so I make this recipe out of my loaves that just are not right. This is a great recipe to use! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kccc5298

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This is the great British Bread pudding my dad made us all as kids and we brought in the Bakeries . Thanks for sharing this... This backs memories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I have been searching for this recipe for many years, my Mom use to make this when we where kids growing up in London, i just made this recipe for my family at Christmas and it was a big hit, brought back fond memories of my childhood and my Mom, i left out the dried fruit and used plain white bread and it was delicious! Thank You All Recipes you have made our Christmas :-) Cheers Clinton
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Loved it! Just like Mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is the classic recipe for British bread pudding. You can use different kinds of bread or fruit as you have available. Great hot with custard and even better cold. It is meant to be quite dense and heavy and not at all like cake. Also, it is not bread and butter pudding which has similar ingredients. NOTE FOR DARVULYA: This not at all like plum pudding which is VERY dark and rich, contains suet, and is steamed, like Christmas pudding. I have been using this recipe for years (long before allrecipes came along and it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hayley C
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Darvulya, Plum pudding, or christmas pudding as we brits call it is made from Suet and is steamed. This recipe IS the British Bread pudding that we all grew up on, smells and tastes fantastic. I also used left over cake (i carve and make Birthday cakes) If you are looking for that great stodgy heart warming dish you grew up on, bake this, sprinkle some sugar on top, grab a cuppa and enjoy. Thanks for taking the time to list this for us all to enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This is a great recipe. I did reduce the 1 tablespoon nutmeg to 1/2 tablespoon. I couldn't find mixed fruit, so used golden raisins and currants. I've already made it twice in 2 days - it disappears so quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
A TRUE British bread pudding recipe, thank you. Every bit as good as my mother and grandmother made. I left out the mixed fruit because I don't like it and just added extra sultanas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States