British Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
If you have any of this pudding left over. When cold, cut into thick slices, melt butter in skillet and fry the slices until golden borwn and sprinkle with Demerara sugar. Serve with whipped cream or ice vanilla ice-cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Very good! I added some chopped nuts and served it with vanilla sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGARET CARR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
this is a very versatile recipe, because I changed a lot of things (used leftover bagels for one, and added yogurt) and it still turned out very well. I would recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This was a really great base. I made 1/4 plain, 1/4 with raisins, and 1/2 with frozen cranberries. My favorite was with raisins. It would be great with apples and an increased amount of cinnamon. I only used 1/2 teaspoon of Nutmeg and it was almost too potent, I can't imagine what it would be like if the recommended 1T was used. I also added an extra egg. Compared to all the other recipes, this looked like the quickest recipe. My friend loved it. So great recipe in great time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This isn't bread pudding. It's plum pudding. If you were looking for bread pudding, this isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This is the real bread pudding that my pommy mum makes - all the other connotations that i noticed in my mind are bread and butter puddings Dad used to call this the good stodge and was what I grew up on with alot of siblings and was a great desert to use up stale bread (which didnt happen often lol) Excellent - I leave out the peal though cant stand it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nick ryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gosford, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hayley C
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Darvulya, Plum pudding, or christmas pudding as we brits call it is made from Suet and is steamed. This recipe IS the British Bread pudding that we all grew up on, smells and tastes fantastic. I also used left over cake (i carve and make Birthday cakes) If you are looking for that great stodgy heart warming dish you grew up on, bake this, sprinkle some sugar on top, grab a cuppa and enjoy. Thanks for taking the time to list this for us all to enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This is a great recipe. I did reduce the 1 tablespoon nutmeg to 1/2 tablespoon. I couldn't find mixed fruit, so used golden raisins and currants. I've already made it twice in 2 days - it disappears so quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
A TRUE British bread pudding recipe, thank you. Every bit as good as my mother and grandmother made. I left out the mixed fruit because I don't like it and just added extra sultanas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Bedelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This is the best, just like mum made,save your stale bread and cake and make this, you wont be sorry. from a true BRIT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States