British Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This is a great recipe. I did reduce the 1 tablespoon nutmeg to 1/2 tablespoon. I couldn't find mixed fruit, so used golden raisins and currants. I've already made it twice in 2 days - it disappears so quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hayley C
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Darvulya, Plum pudding, or christmas pudding as we brits call it is made from Suet and is steamed. This recipe IS the British Bread pudding that we all grew up on, smells and tastes fantastic. I also used left over cake (i carve and make Birthday cakes) If you are looking for that great stodgy heart warming dish you grew up on, bake this, sprinkle some sugar on top, grab a cuppa and enjoy. Thanks for taking the time to list this for us all to enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This is the real bread pudding that my pommy mum makes - all the other connotations that i noticed in my mind are bread and butter puddings Dad used to call this the good stodge and was what I grew up on with alot of siblings and was a great desert to use up stale bread (which didnt happen often lol) Excellent - I leave out the peal though cant stand it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nick ryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gosford, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This isn't bread pudding. It's plum pudding. If you were looking for bread pudding, this isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This was a really great base. I made 1/4 plain, 1/4 with raisins, and 1/2 with frozen cranberries. My favorite was with raisins. It would be great with apples and an increased amount of cinnamon. I only used 1/2 teaspoon of Nutmeg and it was almost too potent, I can't imagine what it would be like if the recommended 1T was used. I also added an extra egg. Compared to all the other recipes, this looked like the quickest recipe. My friend loved it. So great recipe in great time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
this is a very versatile recipe, because I changed a lot of things (used leftover bagels for one, and added yogurt) and it still turned out very well. I would recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Very good! I added some chopped nuts and served it with vanilla sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGARET CARR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
If you have any of this pudding left over. When cold, cut into thick slices, melt butter in skillet and fry the slices until golden borwn and sprinkle with Demerara sugar. Serve with whipped cream or ice vanilla ice-cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States