British Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This was an excellent use of leftover wheat bread I had made. I estimated the dried fruit I added, just adding a handful of this and that, which was probably a little more than the recipe requested but it worked out great for us. Because I’m not a fan of nutmeg, I only added a slight grating which was fine because of the amount of cinnamon in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Exactly what I was looking for, real British bread pudding. I used leftover bread crusts, added a can of drained diced pineapple and soaked the bread for 15 minutes because the bread I was using was so dry. Great way to use stale bread ends and fill up my three growing boys, just like my mum did when my siblings and I were kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ziggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is the classic recipe for British bread pudding. You can use different kinds of bread or fruit as you have available. Great hot with custard and even better cold. It is meant to be quite dense and heavy and not at all like cake. Also, it is not bread and butter pudding which has similar ingredients. NOTE FOR DARVULYA: This not at all like plum pudding which is VERY dark and rich, contains suet, and is steamed, like Christmas pudding. I have been using this recipe for years (long before allrecipes came along and it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Loved it! Just like Mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I have been searching for this recipe for many years, my Mom use to make this when we where kids growing up in London, i just made this recipe for my family at Christmas and it was a big hit, brought back fond memories of my childhood and my Mom, i left out the dried fruit and used plain white bread and it was delicious! Thank You All Recipes you have made our Christmas :-) Cheers Clinton
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This is the great British Bread pudding my dad made us all as kids and we brought in the Bakeries . Thanks for sharing this... This backs memories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I have been learning how to make whole wheat bread, and I have had several failures. I hate to waste so I make this recipe out of my loaves that just are not right. This is a great recipe to use! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kccc5298

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This is the best, just like mum made,save your stale bread and cake and make this, you wont be sorry. from a true BRIT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
A TRUE British bread pudding recipe, thank you. Every bit as good as my mother and grandmother made. I left out the mixed fruit because I don't like it and just added extra sultanas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States