Brisket with BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I rarely, if ever make a brisket. But this one is full proof. I didn't have liquid smoke so used smoke salt and then garlic and onion "powder." Still tasted great. This is a total winner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I'm not a red meat girl. The brisket volunteers for our block party had to back out. So, I chose this recipe. I agree with another reviewer that said it was good without adding the sauce and cooking an additional hour. Cooked the 11 pound brisket at 300 for 6 hours. I trimmed off the fat and sliced it and put some sauce over it anyway (with some on the side for dipping). It's perfectly done right now, so I'm hoping the sauce will only enhance it. I was a bit worried about all the salt, but it's not too salty - just right. I just double the sauce recipe (tripled the wet/dry marinade). I've got a lot of "au jus". So I'm off to find a way to use it, too. This is my first brisket. Thanks for a great recipe. I'll let you know if my Texas friends approve. UPDATE: Didn't use the au jus, just the ketchup-y sauce of this recipe. Not a speck left over and got a high compliment from a neighbor saying it tasted like "Dickey's BBQ" - a local chain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyBarbieri
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Oh my, this was the best BBQ beef ever!!!! Better than restaurant. I didn't measure, just eyeballed and it turned out excellent. I will definitely make again with two, so next time there's leftovers for garlic bread sandwiches or one plain for use in chili or something. Oh this is heaven. I'm in love with this meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
sauce was great. but the meat was black and burned and hard to chew. Can someone tell me why? I followed the instruction fully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blacktulip05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dammam, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I made this in the crockpot, but followed the directions otherwise. I think I would double the sauce recipe next time, since we like extra sauce to dip our sandwiches in. The flavor was great, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
best brisket and bbq sauce EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Thanks for the great recipe! I was looking for a cooking method for cooking brisket in the oven and this was perfect! Super moist and very tasty. The extra step of slicing the brisket and pouring the sauce over it in the final cooking hour was what really made this recipe a winner. I used a bottled texas-style bbq sauce and mixed it with the beef juices and poured on top of the sliced brisket. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Awesome recipe. I started using this recipe a few years ago and now everyone who eats it, is now using it. I am especially a big fan of the barbeque sauce. I go a little light on the liquid smoke, as it can be overpowering. I do not add the liquid smoke to the marinade when my husband cooks this in his smoker, because it gets that flavor from the smoker instead. Definately try this, you won't be sorry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I had unexpected company, and everyone loved this. I made it in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Fabulous!!! The hubby loved this and wants to make sure we add it to the recipe rotation. Added a few more items to the original rub (added paprika) and the sauce (minced garlic and chili powder). Discovered at the last minute that I didn't have any brown sugar or celery salt. So I substituted the brown sugar with molasses, honey, and granulated sugar. After five hours in the oven at 275, I scraped off the layer of fat then attempted to slice it. It was so tender that it became shredded brisket. It's OK cause it was still great. I had a small brisket so maybe that's why it was fully cooked at this point. Then I added the sauce and let it cook for 20 more minutes- mainly to give the meat time to absorb the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Grilled Skirt Steak with Asian BBQ Sauce

See how easy it is to make your own Asian-inspired BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States