Brioche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mridu Bhattacharya
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Made three batches, one was plain, one with choco chips and one with fruit jam as topping. All were perfect. Had little trouble with making exact brioche shape, so we made a little dent on top to fill in the toppings. Served it with home made lemon jelly, everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mridu Bhattacharya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patna, Bihar, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
perfect texture, not much taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This recipe is very forgiving due to the high butter content. The final product is bland, especially if you use unsalted butter. Increasing the amount for water will produce a slightly lighter loaf. Not as good as Challah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I made this with my Kitchen Aid and it came out looking great. It tasted just okay. I think it's just the type of bread though (I've never had brioche before this). I used it to make French toast which was also just okay. By itself or with butter it's boring, as another reviewer mentioned. It might be good with some homemade jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Perfect. Absolutely perfect. Having never made a brioche I followed the recipe exactly. Adding the cup of butter was disconcerting but I persevered and the result was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AshMiller1017
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Amazing!!! Made this by hand... easy but time consuming. Will definitely start first thing in the morning next time lol. Mine came out perfectly golden brown, slightly crispy on the outside, moist inside. Delicious with blueberry preserves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This bread was AMAZING!!!!!! So buttery and almost flaky inside, and an almost crisp outside, I made one loaf braided and the other plain, and can't wait to make French Toast with it tomorrow morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
A great recipe with excellent end results. I did this by hand and it went fine but will definitely use a bread dough hook with my mixer next time! I used Gil's French Toast with the brioche the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This is really good. I was sure I messed up somewhere when I did the butter part but it came out really yummy. I used this to make Gil's Brioche French toast (AR). Thanks for the recipe I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was an outstanding bread. It was soft and buttery, with a just-shy-of-firm crust. I substituted bread flour to get a firmer dough. I kneaded it with a stand mixer equipped with a dough hook, which took most of the work out of it, and also resulted in a nicely spongy, tight crumb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States