Brioche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Thank you for this recipe! It truly made me feel like a baking genius! I've made this a few times already and every time they come out great. I was nervous making them the first time since I wasn't sure if I wasn't experienced enough but I followed the directions to a T and they were a success. The second time I made them I made the mistake of not checking the freshness of my yeast and could not get the dough to rise much more for the second rise, but my mother gave me a good tip to place the dough, covered with a moist towel, on the stove top with the oven preheating so that the heat could give the yeast a little bit of a boost. It still didn't double but they came out delicious nonetheless. Absolutely love these toasted with strawberry marmalade the next morning with my tea!!!! THank you again, makes me wish I baked for a living.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This turned out really dry for me. I would like to try it again and see if the cook-time is a bit off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Martinsville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
NOTICE! To those of you wanting a REAL brioche recipe, this is *not* it. This is a good egg bread recipe but does not have the rich, buttery quality of brioche. Real brioche has more butter and the butter is kneaded into the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I omitted the lemon peel and let the bread machine do the hard work. I made loaves instead of buns and after a couple of days, I made french toast with brioche slices. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Very good..and sweet! I am going to make croutons out of the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSONION

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Wonderful brioche! Thanks for sharing this recipe. I haven't tried to make this type of bread in years and this recipe turned out perfectly light and eggy. Very simple, even tho there are several steps. Just the right amount of sweetness. I thank you and my husband, who grabs one of these every time he goes into the kitchen, thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I may have done something wrong, although I tried to follow the recipe exactly as written, but the bread came out very dense. I am used to a lighter brioche. I'll continue to look for a recipe that produces a lighter, fluffier texture. I have lots of experience making rolls and breads and have usually been successful - although I have had a few failures. This may have been one of them!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Mmmmmm... used this recipe to make sticky buns and they were heavenly. So good!! I loved the hint of lemon, it was just the right touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkPrincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Really hard for me to do a review... I made a coconut swirl loaf, and somehow, there was an air pocket in it, so the air expanded while I baked it, and the whole loaf deflated when I took it out to cool. (it took forever to bake too!). I don't know if this is a good recipe or not... the texture of the bread seems okay. The rising time took forever..! and the end product was bad but that was my fault. Maybe I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This is a great recipe and I was suprised and pleased to see how simple it was to make a good brioche right at home. I recommend that when pushing an indention into the center of the main bun, make sure that the indention is pretty deep and that the smaller bun nestles well into it. I didn't do that the first time and while the brioche rose beautifully, the little buns on the tops all sloped to the side, making lopsided brioche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States