Brined and Roasted Whole Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Just used the brining part as a guide, then cooked turkey in a bag. My turkey, the first I've ever made turned out great. It was super moist! My husband, who is not a huge fan of turkey really like it. The extra effort of brining in worth it and really not a whole lot more work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This is a great supplement to the rosemary roasted turkey. I add all the flavors to the brine and the turkey comes out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This was my first time roasting a turkey and I had amazing success with this recipe. It truly was a piece of cake and I recommend this recipe to anyone that wants a no hassle way of cooking a great bird on Thanksgiving or any other day of the year. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This recipe turned out great. I would just note to make sure you have a large bucket for the brine as mine wasted alot when the turkey made it overflow. Also, I needed alot more cooking time to hit the desired temps, and alot more butter than the recipe called for, but the latter is just personal preference. I also brined overnight. Still I got alot of compliments on my very first turkey I ever cooked, and I'm not very handy in the kitchen, so this recepi is cerctainly worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
It wasn't exactly the easiest to do, but I wouldn't make my turkey any other way from now on. Be sure you rinse it really well - mine was still a bit salty but delicious and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I followed the brine instructions exactly- I left the turkey in the brine overnight- turkey was moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Absolutely fantastic! This year's turkey was SO moist and delicious. I've done this with chicken tenders before I deep fry them but never thought about doing it with a whole turkey. It was wonderful and I won't roast my turkeys without brining them first. I also took some advise from a member who submitted a recipe that called for roasting the turkey upside down to keep the breast meat from drying out and it works beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Country Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leicester, Leicestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
My turkey was self-basted (pre-brined), so I didn't need to brine, but otherwise just did the melted butter, pepper and a bit of salt on the skin, and stuck 2 tablespoons under the skin over each breast to keep it moist - absolutely delicious, plain and simple, and used the drippings to make gravy. This was actually my first time cooking turkey. This one turned out much better than the second turkey I made with a cooking light magazine recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Brining the turkey made all the difference in the world! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
My turkey was done on the outside but not done closer to the bone. I had a 12 lb, turkey in for 3 hours and followed the directions, I had to put it back in for 1 hr. 30min. I wouldn't brine it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States