Brined Bratwurst Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Very good. Had to cook indoors but other than that followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Brats that were super easy to prepare and had a nice taste. I think what I enjoyed the most was that the skins stayed moist while grilling. The balsamic vinegar did make the brats dark in color. The onions were soft after cooking with the brats, so I skipped the butter sautéing step. This was served with 'Grilled Corn with Cilantro Lime Butter' and 'Napa Cabbage Salad with Lemon-Pistachio Vinaigrette', both AR recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I love making these.. I have a picky 6 year old and she loves these.. They are super easy to make and if I can't BBQ them I put them in the broiler..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie McLellan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I'm not a brat fan, but I thought this recipe was fantastic as did my son and husband. The onions are amazing! I tried to rush this recipe and accidentally boiled the brine so the casings split. Some of the brats ended up looking weird and dried out on the grill. If there is an occasion to make brats again I will definitely use this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKAYNICK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This is one of the best ways I've ever had...and I go to a lot of trouble grilling brats! I got rave reviews at the table, and I will definitely do this again. I grilled slices of french bread (french cut)and used chipotle mayo. Everyone loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Bertrand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I'm from WI and have been making brats for many years and never have I boiled my brats with butter. Beer and onions only. And as other reviewers have said don't poke them as that dries them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
We (tip from GINAH1) broiled the brats for browning rather than grilling which gave us more time for the other finishing steps we did. Instead of discarding all the liquid, I saved about a cup of it. After browning the onions in butter, I reduced the liquid (tip from MomB) stirring in a pat of butter at the end for a nice dipping sauce. Served on crusty sourdough bread with a green side salad. We'll keep this on as an occasional alternative to Beer Brats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GELOGENIC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
mmmmmmMMMMMMM! *Singing operatically "Aaaaaawwwwesooome" I followed the recipe up to step 4. I put the brats back in the pan after removing the browned onions and browned the brats that way. I usually boil brats in beer with other ingredients and then grill them. Although we will continue to make the beer brat recipe, the brined brat recipe definitely will be part of our rotation. My family loved them. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Wow. We have never boiled our brats before grilling. Did not want the beer brats...fearful that our teens might not like. Yes...we might be a bit naive! Anyway, followed this as written and it was awesome. The difference with boiling...skin got so very tender. Yummmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Yummers!!!! I used deer brats and they were delicious!!! I love balsamic vinegar so I added a little extra. Complemented the deer meat perfectly. This is how I will be make them from now on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wisconsin Bratwurst

These classic brats are boiled in beer and onions and finished on the grill.

How to Grill Bratwurst

Discover the secret to grilling beautifully caramelized brats.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States