Brine for Smoked Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Very unique recipe! Takes a bit of time to prepare the brine but it was worth it. I'm glad I halved the recipe...it makes A LOT! I smoked two salmon filets and one halibut filet. Both came out juicy and flaky. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Incredible...does take some time and I halved the recipe and still had plenty (1 very large salmon)..comments were all VERY positive...I also used the leftover brine in the smoker water pan! I will definately use this one again-thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FARFUL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Most excellent! I have brined salmon and smoked it before but this recipe gives such a complex range of flavors that it is unbeatable. I loved it. I did half the recipe and there was still PLENTY. Also left out the sugars and the orannge. I dont really like a lot of sweet on my food. Just me. I highly recommend this one. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Two Christmas's ago, I wanted to prepare some smoked salmon fillets, for picking at, during our family get-together. I prepared the recipe as per the instructions. I them smoked in my smoker using alder chips. Everyone commented on how there was no "fishy" flavor at all. Near the edges where the filets are the thinnest, the meat was a bit salty; however that is to be expected. I will be making this again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This brine was awesome. I pretty much followed the original recipe, take or give an orange or two. I also had 4.5lbs of salmon and it was just the right amount, so I imagine you can cut it in half for about 2.5lbs and fewer. Some said they changed it so that it wouldn't be that sweet. I didn't find it that sweet at all even with all of the sugar. I imagine you could come some of the white out. I put the fish in the brine for about 11 hours, took out the fish, and let filets sit in the fridge over night. I soaked cedar planks for 30 minutes in the brine. I smoked the fish for about 3-4 hours at 175F using a mixture of apple and hickory. It was amazing. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I didn't like the way this brine washed out the color of the sockeye. The brine was beautiful - looked like we should be drinking it instead of putting our fresh salmon into it. We tasted salmon that had just been marinated in a simple salt and sugar brine and liked it much more than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaskamojo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This added a light citrus flavor to our smoked salmon. I used fresh grapefruit in place of the lemon and lime. I added fresh rosemary and fresh parsley from our garden. Due to time restraints, we left our salmon in the brine for 8 hours, this seemed to be plenty of time for added citrus flavor. I especially loved no fishy smell or taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Very good - mad half like the others did and it was plenty for a 10 pound salmon. Marinated for about 22 hours. The crab and shrimp seasoning (I used Old Bay) was an interesting twist and gives it a great unique flavor. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I live in the Pacific Northwest, and I smoke a LOT of fresh caught fish. This is one of the best recipes ever. The ingredients exactly mirror my barbecue salmon recipe. I just never thought to brine that way. Thanks! I made two batches. For the second batch I cut down the salt by half, and added a half cup of Safeway's brand of Teriyaki Marinade, and added some Chinese chili paste. I smoked both filets using fresh cherry limbs, apple wood, and cedar. The best fish anyone has ever tasted! Both excellent. Both unique. You can taste the citrus flavors right off the grill, but the longer it sits in the refrigerator the better smoked salmon flavor it gets! (brine it for a full 36 hours if you can.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yiddishlion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This was a great brine to which I also added soy sauce. The salmon was so full of flavor and was totally enjoyed at our gathering yesterday. I've noticed that smoked salmon gets even more flavorful after a couple of days in the fridge, so that's where the other piece is sitting waiting to be enjoyed. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Smoked Turkey and Spring Pea Fettuccine

See how to make a rich and creamy, smoked turkey pasta sauce.

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States