Brine for Smoked Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Amazing. Really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Rabon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yosemite National Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I didn't like the way this brine washed out the color of the sockeye. The brine was beautiful - looked like we should be drinking it instead of putting our fresh salmon into it. We tasted salmon that had just been marinated in a simple salt and sugar brine and liked it much more than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaskamojo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
mild, light sweetness added to the meat. yum! tastes better than the smell of the brine would suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I scaled the recipe down to 6 from 24 in the servings area and still had plenty of Brine for the approx. 2 lbs of salmon I prepared. I went a bit heavy on the lime and lemon because I was not playing attention to the recipe, but it came out great. Also, for ease of cleanup I marinated the salmon using a large freezer bag instead of a large bowl or pot. I marinaded the salmon for about 16 hours then put it on the smoker using the marinade in the smoker's water dish like another member noted and used some Wine Aged Oak wood chips. I took the salmon to a birthday party and got rave reviews, even from the people who usually "know a better way"! I loved it myself and couldn't be happier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Two Christmas's ago, I wanted to prepare some smoked salmon fillets, for picking at, during our family get-together. I prepared the recipe as per the instructions. I them smoked in my smoker using alder chips. Everyone commented on how there was no "fishy" flavor at all. Near the edges where the filets are the thinnest, the meat was a bit salty; however that is to be expected. I will be making this again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This added a light citrus flavor to our smoked salmon. I used fresh grapefruit in place of the lemon and lime. I added fresh rosemary and fresh parsley from our garden. Due to time restraints, we left our salmon in the brine for 8 hours, this seemed to be plenty of time for added citrus flavor. I especially loved no fishy smell or taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This recipe for salmon was the BEST salmon I have EVER HAD! It had the right amount of spicey and sweet! You all should definately try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Most excellent! I have brined salmon and smoked it before but this recipe gives such a complex range of flavors that it is unbeatable. I loved it. I did half the recipe and there was still PLENTY. Also left out the sugars and the orannge. I dont really like a lot of sweet on my food. Just me. I highly recommend this one. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Very good - mad half like the others did and it was plenty for a 10 pound salmon. Marinated for about 22 hours. The crab and shrimp seasoning (I used Old Bay) was an interesting twist and gives it a great unique flavor. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea McEvoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Incredible...does take some time and I halved the recipe and still had plenty (1 very large salmon)..comments were all VERY positive...I also used the leftover brine in the smoker water pan! I will definately use this one again-thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FARFUL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Smoked Turkey and Spring Pea Fettuccine

See how to make a rich and creamy, smoked turkey pasta sauce.

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States