Brine for Smoked Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
reading all of the reviews and incorporating some of the suggestions helped a lot. It made the perfect brine! Probably could be modified to make an awesome marinade for grilling, too - I plan to try it with chicken for starters. Best-smoked-salmon-ever!!! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This is a nice recipe, but allot of prep time, so be prepared to spend some time getting this ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Best I have tried. Not too salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Made this with fresh Great Lakes King salmon (caught on me rod). Has NO!!! flavor despite all of the ingredients, was very disappointed. Soaked for 12 hrs, maybe longer would have helped but doubt it. Maybe less water would have helped, but followed recipe for the first time. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Excellent I added a little Teriyaki in place of some water. Then glazed it with a brown sugar, Syrup and garlic sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
i have used this now to smoke quite a few trout. and this is so nice and simple and the fish always turn out great. i added a little lemon juice and onion and garlick powder. also...anyone who shouldn't eat nitrates (which are in commercial brine mixes) this would work for chicken, turkey, venison etc...and you could add additional spices for different meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenney2kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kewaskum, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I've tried many different brines over the years and some were good and some totally ruined my salmon. this recipe is truly one that I will be making over and over presuming that I have 4 days to make it. I did not use the crab and shrimp seasoning mix but otherwise followed the recipe to the letter then cold smoked it at 95 degrees for 16 hours it came out better than any other store bought smoked salmon I've ever bought including some that I had flown in from Europe. everyone including my fishmonger raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This was the best smoked turkey I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Folle-Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I cut the salt in half and cut the recipe in half for a single Salmon filet. I left the Salmon in the brine mixture for 20 hours then left to dry for another 2 hours before smoking using Apple wood chips. The Salmon came out with a hint of citrus and a just a slight overtone of the Old Bay seasoning. If I do this again I think I will omit the Old Bay as it doesn't compliment the Salmon in my palate. YMMV.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I live in the Pacific Northwest, and I smoke a LOT of fresh caught fish. This is one of the best recipes ever. The ingredients exactly mirror my barbecue salmon recipe. I just never thought to brine that way. Thanks! I made two batches. For the second batch I cut down the salt by half, and added a half cup of Safeway's brand of Teriyaki Marinade, and added some Chinese chili paste. I smoked both filets using fresh cherry limbs, apple wood, and cedar. The best fish anyone has ever tasted! Both excellent. Both unique. You can taste the citrus flavors right off the grill, but the longer it sits in the refrigerator the better smoked salmon flavor it gets! (brine it for a full 36 hours if you can.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yiddishlion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Smoked Turkey and Spring Pea Fettuccine

See how to make a rich and creamy, smoked turkey pasta sauce.

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States