Brine for Smoked Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Excellent I added a little Teriyaki in place of some water. Then glazed it with a brown sugar, Syrup and garlic sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
i have used this now to smoke quite a few trout. and this is so nice and simple and the fish always turn out great. i added a little lemon juice and onion and garlick powder. also...anyone who shouldn't eat nitrates (which are in commercial brine mixes) this would work for chicken, turkey, venison etc...and you could add additional spices for different meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenney2kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kewaskum, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I've tried many different brines over the years and some were good and some totally ruined my salmon. this recipe is truly one that I will be making over and over presuming that I have 4 days to make it. I did not use the crab and shrimp seasoning mix but otherwise followed the recipe to the letter then cold smoked it at 95 degrees for 16 hours it came out better than any other store bought smoked salmon I've ever bought including some that I had flown in from Europe. everyone including my fishmonger raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This was the best smoked turkey I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Folle-Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I cut the salt in half and cut the recipe in half for a single Salmon filet. I left the Salmon in the brine mixture for 20 hours then left to dry for another 2 hours before smoking using Apple wood chips. The Salmon came out with a hint of citrus and a just a slight overtone of the Old Bay seasoning. If I do this again I think I will omit the Old Bay as it doesn't compliment the Salmon in my palate. YMMV.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I live in the Pacific Northwest, and I smoke a LOT of fresh caught fish. This is one of the best recipes ever. The ingredients exactly mirror my barbecue salmon recipe. I just never thought to brine that way. Thanks! I made two batches. For the second batch I cut down the salt by half, and added a half cup of Safeway's brand of Teriyaki Marinade, and added some Chinese chili paste. I smoked both filets using fresh cherry limbs, apple wood, and cedar. The best fish anyone has ever tasted! Both excellent. Both unique. You can taste the citrus flavors right off the grill, but the longer it sits in the refrigerator the better smoked salmon flavor it gets! (brine it for a full 36 hours if you can.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yiddishlion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This brine was awesome. I pretty much followed the original recipe, take or give an orange or two. I also had 4.5lbs of salmon and it was just the right amount, so I imagine you can cut it in half for about 2.5lbs and fewer. Some said they changed it so that it wouldn't be that sweet. I didn't find it that sweet at all even with all of the sugar. I imagine you could come some of the white out. I put the fish in the brine for about 11 hours, took out the fish, and let filets sit in the fridge over night. I soaked cedar planks for 30 minutes in the brine. I smoked the fish for about 3-4 hours at 175F using a mixture of apple and hickory. It was amazing. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This is one of my favorite ways to smoke salmon the only thing I couldnt find was the dry crab and shrimp mix.I smoked it in a bullet smokerwith an apple wood,again a must have,you can use some of the left over brine in the water bowl of your smoker instead of water,not sure if it really makes a difference but it sure smells good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crad

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Came out excellent the brine did take a while to prep but was well worth it. Great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FortheLoveofFood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Smoked Turkey and Spring Pea Fettuccine

See how to make a rich and creamy, smoked turkey pasta sauce.

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States