Brine for Smoked Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Wow! First time smoking fresh salmon, and this was heaven on earth! Our smoker was cooking too quickly, but still came out great. The sugars caramelized, and the citrus added such great flavor. More salmon to come, but a new smoker first. I live near the Oregon coast, so am discovering lots of great local traditions. This is worth the time and fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by auntcandie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I have used this brine twice now and it is excellent. Both times I brined the salmon for about 20 hours. The last time I made it I actually strained the brine and used it in the smoker water pan with a little water added. With the internal temp of the smoker not exceeding 175, I smoked the salmon with hickory chips until it reached an internal temp of 160. (total time of about 2.5hrs) Salmon was very moist and flavorful. I will use the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I am getting rave reviews for my smoked salmon, after doing this recipe for the first time. Also my first attempt at smoking salmon. Even my wife who is not fussy about salmon loves this smoked version. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Made the recipe as listed except for crab seasoning. Followed all the instructions. I agree with 1 reviewer who said it washed out the color of the fish. After smoking for a few hours I was looking forward to a great taste but it was the most saltiest smoked salmon I had ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
We used this recipe on a Coho Salmon and Lake Trout. My husband was skeptical at first but after we smoked the fish, he told me at least 3-4 times, "Save that recipe!" Its a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Spectacular. Quite a tasty twist on traditional smoked salmon. I quartered and juiced the fruits, throwing in the entire quarter once juiced. Aside from that, I followed the recipe exactly and have no regrets. Brined for 18 hrs, smoked for 5 hours but kept thicker pieces in the smoker another hour. Just a wonderful, unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Just noticed I haven't rated this. Have been using this for years. I get nothing but compliments on this recipe and always get asked: "When are you making it again?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I made this and followed the directions to a T. Then I pan seared the salmon and finished it off in the oven. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Exellent! Not too salty or sweet like others. The citrus is a wonderful addition to the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
OMG...everyone loved it.....just a little less salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Smoked Turkey and Spring Pea Fettuccine

See how to make a rich and creamy, smoked turkey pasta sauce.

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States