Brilliant Sauteed Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I actually sauteed the raw broccoli with the spices and the lid on, stirring occasionally for a few minutes. Then I added the cheese and brown sugar mixture. I stiired it in over the heat then turned off the heat and let it set with a lid on for 2 minutes. It was perfect. My husband loved it and he is not a big veggie eater. It doesn't need to be pre steamed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This was pretty awesome. I tried the brown sugar and it was a little too sweet. So, instead I created a mixture of a little sugar (a pinch), nutmeg, and a pinch of cinnamon. It added the right amount of sweetness without being too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
In both preparation and taste this couldn't have been better. The cooking technique was just what I needed for an uncertain supper time and, since Hubs detests overcooked vegetables, it ensured that wouldn't be an issue. I blanched the broccoli ahead of time and when I knew Hubs would be ready to eat it was no big deal to quickly do the last minute sauteeing. Don't hesitate to use the brown sugar - it's not enough to taste any sweetness, but just enough to eliminate any possibility of broccoli bitterness. And in my (Italian) book, anything that calls for fresh Parmesan cheese is always a plus. Flawless recipe, and certainly one to keep in the reference file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I have to agree with Emilysmom in that the technique was great. It was wonderful to steam the vegie first to get it to that wonderful green color and then give it the old ice bath. The brown sugar didn't sit well with me and wouldn't have been favored by my family either which is why I left it out. Everything else was superb and we all enjoyed it very much. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Really good! I took other reviewers advice and just sauteed the broccoli and added all the ingredients while it was cooking. I needed more oil so I just added it as I went. The good thing about this recipe is that it's really easy to add more of what you like at the end; you can make it sweeter, cheesier, or more spicy! Even my 13 month old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I hate to say this, but we didn't really enjoy this recipe. We're probably nuts (based on other reviews); but the brown sugar really didn't do anything for us...the cheese and red pepper flakes were nice though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cottonwood Heights, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I made this last night for my husband who loves broccoli and he said it is the best he has had! I used a bit more red pepper flakes which was a great compliment to the sweetness of the brown sugar parmessian mixture! I will definitely make this again! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This was a good recipe, and I served it with basmati rice and Maple Teriyaki Salmon Barbeque (also from this site). The slight sweetness from the brown sugar complimented the salmon well (although I used about 1/2 tsp). I also added a pinch of cinnamon, and put the parmesan mixture on the broccoli while still in the skillet for about one minute to melt the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I am rating this based purely on the technique because I seasoned according to my kids preference. I have been looking for a good way to cook broccoli based on the most delicious brocoli served at a popular chain resturaunt. This comes close--but is it just me or does this require an awful lot of dirty dishes to make one side dish???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I thought I would like the sweet/savory - but did not really. I love the technique though, I will definitely make this again, without the brown sugar. Thanks for showing me something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States