Brilliant Potatoes With Paprika and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
AWESOME recipe using red skinned potatoes! I did not have canned potatoes so I cubed about 8 small to medium sized red potatoes and boiled in water on the stove top about 8-10 minutes. While potatoes were cooking, I caramelized the onions with the EVOO and also added 1 tablesoon of honey (was out of agave) to add more flavor. Drained potatoes and added remaining ingredients. Totally forgot to add the 1/2 stick of room temperature butter on top of potatoes! This dish really did not need the added butter (or calories) because it really has a good flavor with the paprika and caramelized onions. I garnished with rosemary before serving. Next time I may put some rosemary in this dish prior to baking. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Tasty!!!!!! I REALLY like these! I used fresh potatoes, and boiled them first. I thought while making them that the garlic would be a very heavy taste, but it was not at all. The sweetness of the added onions is great! I will make this again and again...thank you for sharing! By the way...I made NO changes to this and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
A definite keeper, my family loved them. I followed the recipe exactly except for using fresh potatoes instead of the canned. I peeled them, quartered them and put them in the microwave for 4 minutes before proceeding with the rest of the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaltyJenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I had some cans of potatoes that my Mom had given me. Had no idea what to do with them having never used them before. I googled and this recipe popped up. Great one and so easy. They tasted fresh. No one could tell they were canned. Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Hill Masters

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This recipe is great!! I used fresh new potatoes cut into large bite sized pieces. Then I followed the suggestions of several people... I precooked the potatoes for 4 minutes in the microwave. I then added some oil - stirred the potatoes in the oil, added the seasoning, and baked the potatoes. When the dish was 10 minutes away from being done, I stirred the potatoes and added the caramelized onions and paprika. I didn't add the butter at the end, it didn't need it. This recipe is a keeper! There was a small amount left over and I look forward to using it in a scrambled egg breakfast burrito tomorrow, yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Wow! Amazing recipe!!! I used fresh red and yukon gold potatoes and one vidalia onion and one red onion, mmm. I didn't add the butter before the paprika either b/c I'm trying to watch the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
OMG - these are so so good. I used fresh red potatoes, cut them into wedges and only boiled them for 10 min. Didn't want them to fall apart when tossing them and they cook in the oven long enough to finish cooking. 10 to 15 min. is not long enough to properly caramelize onions in my experience. I cook them slow for about 30 min at least. I also used less butter and these potatoes were still so awesome - so glad I tried this recipe - thanks Gigi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Great recipe, but some of my more caramelized onions burned after the baking. Next time, I'm going to slice the potatoes, and not cook the onions as thoroughly as I did. Also, I'll reduce the amount of butter because it really wasn't needed all that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Delicious! We varied the recipe slightly and it still came out great. The second time we made these, we boiled boneless skinless chicken breasts for about 10 min, cut the chicken into cubes slightly larger than the potato cubes and placed them in the dish as well. On top of the paprika, we added a bit of basil instead of butter. The chicken came out EXTREMELY moist. Definitely going to be a dish served again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenacres, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
OMG these potatoes are sooo yummy my kids beg for them. I am not a lover of canned new potatoes but this is the only way I will eat them. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States