Brilliant Potatoes With Paprika and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
AWESOME recipe using red skinned potatoes! I did not have canned potatoes so I cubed about 8 small to medium sized red potatoes and boiled in water on the stove top about 8-10 minutes. While potatoes were cooking, I caramelized the onions with the EVOO and also added 1 tablesoon of honey (was out of agave) to add more flavor. Drained potatoes and added remaining ingredients. Totally forgot to add the 1/2 stick of room temperature butter on top of potatoes! This dish really did not need the added butter (or calories) because it really has a good flavor with the paprika and caramelized onions. I garnished with rosemary before serving. Next time I may put some rosemary in this dish prior to baking. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Delicious! We varied the recipe slightly and it still came out great. The second time we made these, we boiled boneless skinless chicken breasts for about 10 min, cut the chicken into cubes slightly larger than the potato cubes and placed them in the dish as well. On top of the paprika, we added a bit of basil instead of butter. The chicken came out EXTREMELY moist. Definitely going to be a dish served again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenacres, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Tasty!!!!!! I REALLY like these! I used fresh potatoes, and boiled them first. I thought while making them that the garlic would be a very heavy taste, but it was not at all. The sweetness of the added onions is great! I will make this again and again...thank you for sharing! By the way...I made NO changes to this and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by danakscully64
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I made a few changes, but this recipe is great! I actually used half of this recipe and half of another to create the PERFECT potato side dish. I made the caramelized onions and used the seasonings (except the dried minced garlic... and with what I used, I didn't measure it out, just tossed it in). Instead of using the canned potatoes, I used fresh red potatoes. I cut them into wedges, soaked them in cold water, patted them dry, and tossed them with the seasonings. I put them in the oven on a baking sheet for 20 minutes, flipped them, put them back in and baked them for another 15-20. When they came out, I tossed them with the onions. Serve with ketchup. YUMMM! Perfectly crispy wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danakscully64

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
These are delicious! Easy to make and something a little different. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
OMG - these are so so good. I used fresh red potatoes, cut them into wedges and only boiled them for 10 min. Didn't want them to fall apart when tossing them and they cook in the oven long enough to finish cooking. 10 to 15 min. is not long enough to properly caramelize onions in my experience. I cook them slow for about 30 min at least. I also used less butter and these potatoes were still so awesome - so glad I tried this recipe - thanks Gigi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Awesome! Great flavor and easy! Will definately make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
These were wonderful. The only thing I will differently next time is add the caramelized onions the last 5-10 minutes of baking. They cooked too long and dried out a lot. Why don't I caramelize onions more often??? YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
These potatoes were very good. I went with the canned potatoes which was a new product for me, but WOW, how did I not know about those before? They made everything so much easier! The only issue I had was the onions getting a bit crispy in the oven, I think I'll add them closer to the end of cooking next time and see if that works better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
These were good for a different type of potato dish. Instead of sprinkling the paprika on top of the mixture, I mixed it in with the garlic and oil and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States