Brilliant Potatoes With Paprika and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Wow! Amazing recipe!!! I used fresh red and yukon gold potatoes and one vidalia onion and one red onion, mmm. I didn't add the butter before the paprika either b/c I'm trying to watch the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This recipe is great!! I used fresh new potatoes cut into large bite sized pieces. Then I followed the suggestions of several people... I precooked the potatoes for 4 minutes in the microwave. I then added some oil - stirred the potatoes in the oil, added the seasoning, and baked the potatoes. When the dish was 10 minutes away from being done, I stirred the potatoes and added the caramelized onions and paprika. I didn't add the butter at the end, it didn't need it. This recipe is a keeper! There was a small amount left over and I look forward to using it in a scrambled egg breakfast burrito tomorrow, yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
these were not only good they were easy, I did use fresh potatoes and par boiled them, will be making these alot thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
A definite keeper, my family loved them. I followed the recipe exactly except for using fresh potatoes instead of the canned. I peeled them, quartered them and put them in the microwave for 4 minutes before proceeding with the rest of the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaltyJenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
These were really lovely! My very picky husband said I have to make these all the time now! I left out the dried minced garlic because I didn't have any, but I don't think it really needed it in addition to the salt and powder, imo. And I just mixed the paprika in with the rest of the spices. Also, I didn't put on the extra butter at the end and I don't think I will when I make these again. Thirdly and lastly, caramelising onions takes longer than 10-15 minutes and on a lowish heat, but they are a great addition to these tasty potatoes! :D Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Braintree, Essex, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Great recipe, but some of my more caramelized onions burned after the baking. Next time, I'm going to slice the potatoes, and not cook the onions as thoroughly as I did. Also, I'll reduce the amount of butter because it really wasn't needed all that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
These were good for a different type of potato dish. Instead of sprinkling the paprika on top of the mixture, I mixed it in with the garlic and oil and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
These potatoes were very good. I went with the canned potatoes which was a new product for me, but WOW, how did I not know about those before? They made everything so much easier! The only issue I had was the onions getting a bit crispy in the oven, I think I'll add them closer to the end of cooking next time and see if that works better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
These were wonderful. The only thing I will differently next time is add the caramelized onions the last 5-10 minutes of baking. They cooked too long and dried out a lot. Why don't I caramelize onions more often??? YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Awesome! Great flavor and easy! Will definately make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States