Brigid's Blackberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
Thank you for this recipe. It brings back wonderful memories when I used to go blackberry picking and my mother would make this pie. (Ah - and they were also Irish blackberries)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
A wonderful rich pie full of flavour and very simple to make. Picked the berries in the morning and cooked it in the afternoon to serve with blueberry crumb pie also on this site. Had 15 people in for a bbq and they loved the 'old fashioned' taste of this pie. Had to hand out the recipe - thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
I took a chance on this recipe and was not disappointed. The use of basic ingredients does not mask the blackberry flavor. While everyone said their pie was good, two pointed specifically to the true berry taste as their reason for liking the pie so well. The pies made a beautful dessert dish when cut and served with vanilla ice cream. The pie consistency was just right, not too thick or thin. I'll be hanging on to this recipe for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Brookville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rushville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I followed this recipe exactly, and it was great. It came out a little softer than I would have liked, so I definitely recommend letting it fully cool before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I've been using this recipe for the last few years, turning local blackberries into wonderful pies very consistently. simple recipe with ingredients you already have, you couldn't ask for the pie to turn out better, there's no reason to look further for a blackberry pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Blackberry pie is my Grandma's favorite. I made this for her at Christmas with frozen berries from my garden. My berries are extra juicy, so I had to add a little extra flour, but other than that . . . It was great! Everyone loved it. Not a piece left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Sooo yummy and EASY! If you're thinking about making this, I recommend making your own crust to save about $2.50. It took me three small crates of blackberries to get to 4 cups. I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Turned out great! I used "Ruth's Grandmas Pie Crust" recipe from this site! I sprinkled the top of the pie crust with sugar before baking! YUMMY! I will make this again!! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
this recipe was awesome...even if I did add a bit of heavy whiping creme to the berries. (1/4 cup) and so added a bit more flour. Best Blackberry Pie recipe I have made yet. I also used the pie crust recipe recommended by others and it is a keeper too. (Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Newton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
This is a super-simple, yet delicious pie the entire family will enjoy. I made this pie last week and my family devoured it in less than 24 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States