Brigid's Blackberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Followed exactly except to brush top crust with milk and shake sugar on it before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Great recipe, used this one for my first ever blackberry pie and my guys LOVED it!! Now I have the perfect recipe for Imbolc! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thompson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
AMAZING!!! No one in my family believed this was as easy as it was!!! My son, who rarely eats pie, declared "this is delicious" and instructed me that other than the obligatory holiday pumpkin pie, no other pie besides this one is allowed to darken my oven's door. I made a mixed berry frozen custard to go on top, but we couldn't wait for it to custardize... something to look forward to later!! Thank you SO MUCH for this recipe. It's going to be a summer regular in my house. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marengo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
this was great! I don't ever use salt, so I left that out. Just thought the sugar seemed too much, so I only used 1/2 c, wasn't quite enough so will try again with 1 c. I did make my own crust. The amount of berries was perfect for a nice thick pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Fabulous. Sooo easy and sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I made this pie for a potluck (I am an experienced pie maker and they always turn out beautifully) and it was a total embarrassment. I was shocked and confused to come back and read all the positive reviews. First off, when making it, I was anxious about the amount of sugar in the filling. I've never seen that much before. So when I tossed the filling ingredients together in the bowl, the sugar was so heavy that the berries just sat on top of it no matter how much I tossed. The they wouldn't blend together. But I pressed on and made it the way your recipe stated. I dumped the ingredients into my pie crust as they were, topped it and baked it. When I cut the pie open for the crowd, all of the sugar was in one big white "hill" in the center of the pie! While baking, it hardened there and everyone had huge chunks of pure, hard, white sugar in their piece of pie. It seems to me that there was no liquid for the sugar to melt down and dissolve with! I have never seen that happen before! Now, my only guess is that it's because I used frozen berries instead of "fresh" because that's the ONLY thing I changed in your recipe. But every time I've done that with any other recipe has always worked out just fine (blueberries, strawberries, peaches, etc...). So I don't know what went wrong but my crowd was very gracious and the pie disappeared quickly anyway. But wow, was I ever disappointed and embarrassed. I would not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TammyJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
First time I've ever used a premade pie crust. Have 4 little kids and just didn't have time. My friends raved! I cut down on the sugar. Only added 1/2 cup sugar to the berries and about 2-3 Tbsp's on top. I omitted the butter, but I'm sure it would be good either way (would probably taste richer with the butter, but everyone loved it anyway). Wonderful and very, very simple recipe! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Insanely delicious! I used the ingredients exactly as written. Just needed to bake mine about 15 min. longer. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TAURUSGIRL
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
AMAZING. Amazingly simple and so freaking good. My fiance said it was the best pie he'd ever eaten! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I made this as my very first attempt at baking berry pie, took it to work, and it went over FAMOUSLY! I made my own crust (which is a pain in itself), and I think I used 1pkg of frozen blackberry's and another pkg of frozen mixed berries and it turned out wonderfully!! Highly recommended and easy to make! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States