Brigid's Blackberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This recipe was AWSOME!!! I baked 2 pies today. It was so easy to make and just down right delicious. Im sure I will be making more of these this season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
First timers (like me) here are my tips: -line the bottom of the oven! it spills! -use fresh berries, or thawed berries NO SUGAR ADDED (otherwise it will be too sweet) -add 1/2 envelope of unflavored gelatin to the berries before you add the dry ingredients mixture. Coat well so that gelatin dissolves with the fruit juice. Then proceed as indicated. -I baked it 30 min at 375F, then 35 min at 400F. I recommend using a glass pie baking dish, so that you can see if the bottom crust is browned. -DO let it cool to room temperature! Otherwise it will be runny and very hard to serve, no matter how much gelatin or corn starch or whatever you use. Resist the temptation! I LOVED IT, LOVED IT, LOVED IT!!! (my guests did, too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by followthebeat
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I really enjoyed this pie. My filling ended up runny, but I'm sure that can be remedied by adding a bit more flour or a bit of corn starch next time. It was easy to make and nice when served with a dollop of homemade whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by followthebeat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Wonderful and compliments the flavors of the blackberrys without being too sweet or too tart. Delicious a la mode or by itself. This recipe was a sinch to follow and the finished product is sensational!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven Corn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dancing Queen
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I am not a pie person, but my boyfriends family is. So after looking at a few recipes I decided to try this one. I was a little nervous since I have never baked a pie before, and was taking it to my boyfriends parents house for Sunday dinner. And well, I thought it was the best blackberry pie I have ever tasted, my boyfriend liked it to, in fact he liked it so much he boxed up the pie before asking it others wanted seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
It was very runny and WAY to sweet.:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Guinapiggirl1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by P.Smith
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I've made this recipe several times, and with a little tweaking it is to die for. I had to add more flour each time to keep it from being too runny (maybe my berries are juicer), and the cooking time seems to be off. 1 hour at 350 degrees instead of 325 was about right for my oven. Other than those 2 changes I followed the recipe to a tee. Thor and I have put on a few pounds thanks to this recipe, but who cares. 5 stars and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I've made this several times now and it's great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I really liked it-my husband didn't like all the seeds. I think next time I might put the berries through a food mill & then use the filling in a tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This was pretty good. The filling is delicious, but a little too sweet for my taste. And I really think the pre-made crust detracts from the taste. I will try making this again sometime with a homemad crust and scaling back the sugar in the filling. Otherwise though, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States