Bright Blue Monday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
As I write this review, this recipe has only a few people who have reviewed it and an average rating of just four stars--what a shame. I hope more bakers give this recipe a chance and bring that rating up to five stars where it belongs! I added 1/2 tsp. of vanilla to the batter and substituted butter for the margarine called for in the streusel, keeping all else the same. I kind of had the feeling when I saw the ingredients called for vegetable oil (rather than butter or even shortening) that this would be moist and that's exactly what this is--moist, flavorful, and bursting with blueberry flavor. The topping amount is just right, with a pleasing buttery crunch. I have made several of these coffeecakes or "buckles," over the years, one in particular that has been my favorite for over 40 years. But as good as that recipe is, THIS recipe beats it hands down for moistness. In fact, I think this is the finest recipe of it's kind I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This is a great brunch cake for any day of the week. It's moist, delicious, bursting with blueberries and topped with a crisp buttery streusel. I followed the recipe exactly and added 1/2 tsp. of vanilla to the batter. I baked it in an 8x8 pan and was very pleasantly suprised with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Very moist cake but it was missing something. Next time I'll add a splash of vanilla, as Naples suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
How can you not love the name of this cake? With a newly purchased 4 pound bag of blueberries tucked in my freezer and my 2 grandkids scheduled for an overnight with us, I was on the prowl for a yummy breakfast treat. I made this, pretty much according to directions, and half a cake later we all declared this a winner. It was moist, flavorful, and had just the right amount of blueberries. I added vanilla to the batter and substituted butter for margarine in the crumb topping as suggested by Naples. I also used brown sugar instead of white in the topping. It was delish; however, next time I'll probably stick with the granulated sugar and try a little nutmeg instead of cinnamon. I have a treasured blueberry muffin recipe that calls for a dusting of sugar and nutmeg and we really love that flavor combination. For those who had issues with this being too dry or needing extra baking time, some things to check are pan size, oven thermostat, and your pan material. Some pan coatings require lowering your oven temperature by 25 degrees. EDIT: Another thing to note: if you like this cake, another you will probably enjoy from Allrecipes is Dried Cherry Cake. It's equally awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
This is a simple cake that turns out moist and delicious! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
Yummy,the whole family enjoyed it. Will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Moist and yummy!! I used butter instead of margarine in the topping, added the zest of one lemon and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla to the batter, and baked it in a 7 X 9 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Well I'm not sure what to think just yet. I followed the recipe with no changes for the first time. It is moist. It could definitely use some vanilla. It's not bad, I'm just not finding it up to par for a coffee cake. Something is missing. I will make this one again and play a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I just made this and amazing can't wait to make it again with blue berry's. I did have to make one change as the frozen blueberry were freezer burnt so I had to use frozen Raspberry. WOW. 10 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This recipe makes a very good coffeecake, but a little vanilla and more salt would boost the flavor. The only ingredient change I made was to use butter instead of margarine. I also used frozen blueberries so the coffeecake needed to bake 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States