Bright Blue Monday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
Yummy,the whole family enjoyed it. Will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
This is a simple cake that turns out moist and delicious! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I would highly recommend this cake. It's moist and delicious and just the right size. I usually bake for our Friends of the Library Board meetings and this is one of the most requested cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Britain, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Plainville, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This recipe has a very dense cake texture. I had to cook it 10 minutes longer than recipe states. A great way to use up those frozen blueberries from summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Delicious!! And so simple. I made it in an 8x8 pan, and baked it for 45 - 50 mins total. It was perfect! Light, fluffy, delish. My boyfriend is not a dessert fan, but he ate 2 pieces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
As I write this review, this recipe has only a few people who have reviewed it and an average rating of just four stars--what a shame. I hope more bakers give this recipe a chance and bring that rating up to five stars where it belongs! I added 1/2 tsp. of vanilla to the batter and substituted butter for the margarine called for in the streusel, keeping all else the same. I kind of had the feeling when I saw the ingredients called for vegetable oil (rather than butter or even shortening) that this would be moist and that's exactly what this is--moist, flavorful, and bursting with blueberry flavor. The topping amount is just right, with a pleasing buttery crunch. I have made several of these coffeecakes or "buckles," over the years, one in particular that has been my favorite for over 40 years. But as good as that recipe is, THIS recipe beats it hands down for moistness. In fact, I think this is the finest recipe of it's kind I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Cheri
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This recipe is excellent! I made them into muffins instead of a cake. Just filled 12 muffin cups and baked for 30 min. My husband who usually doesn't like muffins loved these! I was tempted not to put so many blueberries in because it seemed like a lot, but added them all anyways. I am glad I did... so delicious! And, the topping is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sundre, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Very moist cake but it was missing something. Next time I'll add a splash of vanilla, as Naples suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Great recipe. Two cups of blueberries is a tad much though. I was a fan, but my dad said he wanted more "cake." I also used buttermilk instead of regular milk. Baked in a 8 by 8 pan, perfect size. Used butter and brown sugar for topping. Really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This is a great brunch cake for any day of the week. It's moist, delicious, bursting with blueberries and topped with a crisp buttery streusel. I followed the recipe exactly and added 1/2 tsp. of vanilla to the batter. I baked it in an 8x8 pan and was very pleasantly suprised with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States