Bright Blue Monday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
A delicious, moist coffecake-like treat that was very simple to put together. Oh.....and it has great flavor. We really enjoyed the crusty topping on the cake. I used frozen blueberries, in the frozen state, in the recipe without any problems. A definite way to brighten a Monday, or in our case a Sunday. :o) Thank you Heidi, for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Just made this today since I had fresh blueberries on hand, and it was absolutely delicious. In fact, my husband had two pieces while it was still warm. The ONLY change I did was to simply omit the cinnamon (my husband doesn't like cinnamon - please don't judge) and added about a teaspoon of vanilla in its place. Nothing else needed to be changed!! Loved the sweetness of the topping to offset the slight tartness of the berries. The cake was moist enough without being dense; it was actually a soft cake-like texture but held together very well. I think I will try next time to use brown sugar in the topping instead of white for a different sweetness and texture. Always fun to experiment but not because the recipe needs it, just a personal preference. I did need to bake it a full 34 minutes in a 9" square pan but all ovens are different so be sure to start with the least amount of time to bake it and watch closely to not overtake so it won't get too dry. Will be using this recipe a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
First Time ever baking a cake! Turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I have made this 3 times now and have added it to my home recipes! I have my own blue berries and my boys love to pick them knowing its going in Monday cake as they lovingly call it!! Thank you so much for this recipe, in just a short time it has become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaBluu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This is fabulous!!!!!!! I made just a few changes. I didn't have any vanilla so I used lemon extract. I totally forgot the cinnamon in the topping but I didn't miss it. I used butter in the topping and sprinkled some sliced almonds on top. So good, I want another piece now!!! I'm going to have go pick more blueberries to make another one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
After making blueberry muffins for years, this is much easier and just as yummy! I do add a tsp. of vanilla, as others suggested, I've made it several times and it never lasts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKEYMAD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hammond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Delicious! I followed the exact recipe. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Love! Simple and yummy...even my husband who doesn't like blueberries likes it. I did sub margarine for butter in the topping and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellybeth
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I just made this and had one piece hot out of the oven. The blueberries smelled so good I couldn't resist. As soon as that piece was gone I went for another! I made it exactly as directed except I used butter instead of oil in the batter and butter instead of margarine in the topping. Usually I add more fruit than called for in recipes but 2 cups was the perfect amount in this case and the amount of topping was generous also. It was soft and very flavorful. Not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Delicious ...yummy...great for my daughters play group. Perfect just needs a little vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States