Brigadeiro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I followed other reviews and these turned out perfect for my son's class. They were studying Brazil and we were looking for a recipes to bring into class. My 12 year old did these by himself with little help from mom. We rolled in the traditional chocolate sprinkles, confectioners sugar, and coconut. Big hit with the family and the class!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEARSENEAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Howe, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I've made this recipe three times now. I've used some of the following comments to help out with knowing when the little balls of chocolaty goodness are done and I think the most helpful hint of them all is to tip the pan over while your cooking and if the "dough" seems to pull away from the sides and try to keep itself in a blob than rather be drippy, than you know it'd ready. Also, I wouldn't suggest putting it in the fridge to cool the dough, that's what you do after you roll the balls up, if you do it for too long too early you will be sorrrrrrrry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
very nice....just what i wanted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby_Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I was craving these the day before yesterday,, and I tried to call my mom to get the recipe but then I found them on this site and all the ingredients were as I remebered.. I did them the was We did them as a kid.. after the mixture is completley blended and cooked pour hot mixture in a pie pan.. and then coat your hands with butter to prevent sticking and burning yourself and dive into the hot mixture rolling the balls and then immediatley putting them in chocolate sprinkles.. I did it myself ( though i remeber begina kid helping my mom make them) she would roll them hot and thow them in the sprinkles and us kids would roll them in the sprinkles.. I think they stick to the candy better if they are as hot as can be,.. If you can recruit someone to be designated as the sprinkler then i think it would be easier than if you did them yourself.. anyway,.. they are delish and still soft from the fridge :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Very Full Monty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Mmmmm. These were yummy. It just mostly taste like condensed milk, but I like condensed milk so I have no problems with it. I made enough for 8 balls, 2 were just chocolate - no coating, 2 with chocolate sprinkles, 2 with powdered sugar, and 2 with crushed peanuts. Both my boyfriend and I liked the peanuts the best. We both agreed that even though it looks pretty, the powdered sugar and chocolate sprinkles basically taste like the uncoated one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie
Photo by sdbooker
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
WOW yummy! So creamy, I made 28. I had so much fun decorating these brigadeiros. I used tiny marshmellows around one and it looked like a flower....HA! ( see picture) I also rolled them in strawberry nesquik, power sugar mixed with cinnamon, nuts, crunched Oreo cookies and carved a small hole in several strawberrys and filled it with recipe and add sprinkles and nuts on top...now those were good! Easy, fun, will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdbooker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This is one of my favorite dessert! The best part is it only requires three ingredients, and it's pretty easy to make! try to use good quality cocoa powder, it really make a difference. I like to add 1/4C (4Tbsp) cocoa powder instead of 3Tbsp to make the chocolate taste more intense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This is a quick & easy little treat - and fun for kids to help with. I needed to use up some sweetened condensed milk from a dinner dish earlier today and this was perfect! Even my husband, who doesn't like sweets, liked the brigadeiro! I used food server's plastic gloves instead of greasing my hands and rolled the balls in chopped nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Yum! This is great. I found this recipe by accident while trying to figure out how to use up a can of sweetened condensed milk. I'm glad I did. The balls are gooey with the consistency of an old fashioned caramel. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erhard, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
It tasted great but it wouldn't roll in to a ball we ended up eating out of the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States