Brigadeiro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
My son had to prepare a recipe from any Latin American country to share with his World Studies class. He chose this because it would be easy to share (no utensils or slicing and serving needed). He used part chocolate milk drink mix, and relied on the tips so many reviewers have shared to prepare it. Since his class is nut-free, he rolled some in chocolate sprinkles, and some in silver sugar. They were simple to make, and turned out really well. I was worried they would be sickly sweet, but they were about the same as any other candy. The consistency of the finished product reminded me of a Tootsie Roll. Fun recipe to make, too. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Delicious!! I found the best topping to use was confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I've had to make this recipe multiple times for school, and each time, the students loved it. Great recipe and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly in MS
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out perfectly. I did not love the taste of them but they were easy to make and looked very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Delicious simple brigadero. I am in love it tastes just like it did in Brazil! I whipped up a batch in the microwave in about 5 minutes then cooled it in the fridge for a few hours and it turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Plu~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lucerne, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I took these to a dinner party and they were a total hit! People couldn't believe how amazing they were! I am so glad I read the reviews before trying to make these or I think my first time would have been a disaster. Some of the key points to remember include: 1) cook/stir the mix in the saucepan for longer than you think. When you think it's done, heat a little longer. The mix has to get rather firm before taking you're done. 2) Transfer heated mix to bowl and put in freezer for as long as possible. I used an aluminum bowl without any oil and it came off fine. I left it in the freezer almost an hour, which was long enough for it to stiffen all the way through. 3) I sprayed my hands with PAM and it really helped prevent the mix from sticking while I was rolling the balls. 4) Double the recipe, as the original recipe only yielded about 15 balls for me. But I like big balls so...Make them smaller if you want more. I don't think you can have too much. Just refrigerate or freeze any leftovers for periodic treats or another dinner party. Definitely use a mix of toppings to roll your balls - the variety keeps it interesting and looks better when presented on a platter. I rolled some in powdered sugar, some in chocolate sprinkles, some in crushed Nilla Wafers, and some in coconut (my favorite!!!). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Super easy to make. I was expecting something like truffles, but this comes out like a chocolate flavored caramel. I left half the batch regular and rolled in cocoa powder and chopped cashews. The other half I mixed toasted coconut into the "dough", then rolled balls in toasted coconut. I bet this would be delicious dipped in chocolate, too! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by november_fairy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
These taste really good..but Im not sure I cooked it long enough because even tho they held their form after cooling, they never did get past the light gooey stage..is this normal? How firm are they supposed to be?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Family's spring break virtual field trip to South America. Everyone loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
good! very sweet. i rolled them in cocoa but coconut would have been good too. needed to cook over low so as not to burn and for a LOT longer to get it stiff enough to roll properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States