Brigadeiro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
First off I made its recipe by my self if if I can do it so can you. Follow blandinas instructions simmer on medium heat for 15 to 20 min wait until it is thick. It will start to glob up on the side of the dish that's when you really need to stir or it will burn and become chewy. After that spread out in a pan until it is room temp now tool in toppings I used crushed almonds, powdered sugar, salt, and crushed chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This is a great, simple dessert! I really enjoy making them, but my family enjoys, even more, to eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah Doolittle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I had absolutely no problems when I made these with my preschool class during our study of South America. The kids whisked together the milk and cocoa, then I added the butter and cooked the mixture over medium heat, stirring constantly. It took about 10 minutes for it to get thick and pull away from the bottom of the pot. Then I cooked it for a few more minutes to let the caramel flavor develop. Next I scooped the mixture out into a bowl, spread it out a bit, and put it in the freezer to cool. It took about 30 min. to cool, then we were able to roll the balls. We did not need to coat our hands - it was not overly sticky. The kids got to choose which sprinkles they wanted to roll in. A big hit! ps - we used unsweetened cocoa only - the sweetness was perfect. Can't imagine wanting these any sweeter :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I added hot chocolate mix, it was nice and chocolatey!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
These are great and fun to make! The recipe is spot on about how many it makes, I got 21 little balls of chocolate goodness from it. I did greese a plate and put it in the freezer for a while to get the cocolate to harden, next time it will be between two sheets of plastic as it stuck to the plate. Also discovered that instead of rolling this in something you can wrap it around pieces of fruit and whole nuts to make delicious suprises! I used strawberries, almonds and peanuts and then rolled the balls in icing sugar! They were a HUGE hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I grew up in Brazil and remember all the birthday parties with these delicious treats! I felt so lucky to get the recipe from my grandmother before she passed. The only difference to this recipe from my grandmother's is that she would also add in a tablespoon of strong coffee. This gives it a wonderful extra bit of flavor. My favorite treat of all time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Easy recipe yo follow. I followed suggestions to use hot cocoa mix and it turned out great. It's like a homemade tootsie roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by guardami
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
The first time I made this recipe, I had never eaten a brigadeiro. I had just learned that our family would be moving to Brazil for 4 years, and eager to get into the spirit of it all I researched recipes and decided to make these. They were disappointing: dry, crumbly, too sweet. I couldn't imagine what the fuss was all about. I've now been here 3 years and eaten dozens. Here are my tips: 1. DO NOT OVERCOOK. Combine ingredients, cook over low-ish heat, stir constantly, and turn off the heat the very second the mixture comes together and pulls away from the pan when you tilt it. IMMEDIATELY turn out into a buttered bowl. It will seem undercooked and too liquidy; it's not. 2. Let cool to room temperature before proceeding. Butter your hands, roll and dip into sprinkles. They will be very mushy. The sprinkles and the mini paper cups are in fact what help the brigadeiro retain it's round shape. When you bite into them they should be soft and caramel-y but not chewy. Overcooking by even a minute will ruin them. 3. Sprinkles: chocolate jimmies are the most common here. You can do better. High-end brigadeiro places will roll them in Callebaut dark chocolate flakes for a "meio amargo" (bittersweet) flavor -- see photo of one I made today . Kids love rainbow sprinkles, but use the tiniest little ball ones. Pistachios ground to a powder make an AMAZING brigadeiro. Or serve them poured into mini shot glasses and topped with sprinkles, and serve with a tiny spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I am Brazilian and have already tried to make our Brazilian Brigadeiro in different countries, but it didn't work. The condensed milk was too sweety and the powder chocolate didn't really taste like chocolate. Don't know if we can do the recipe, with the same taste, without our own ingredients... And not being rolled is tastes even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I used other people's feedback and added 3 TB of Nesquick instead of cocoa powder. I started it on 2 on the electric stove and after 5 minutes turned it up to 4 since it wasn't hot enough. I stirred for about 25 minutes. I think the trick is that once it gets really hard to stir then you stop (you will feel it to start thicken--keep going until it's a lot of work to keep going). I cooled it for about 30 minutes on parchment paper and then started rolling and coating them. The dough was sticky but I found it was easier to handle when my hands were wet and the toppings also stuck on much better than with butter/oil. Feedback from my Brazilian friend was that they tasted authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States