Brigadeiro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
It was as easy to make as I ever remembered growing up in Brasil. It tasted excellent as if my grandmother made it. It tasted like my childhood. My husband loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
If you are having trouble with stickiness, then just refrigerate them until cool to the touch, and if they are still sticky, then roll them in a coating of cocoa, nuts, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oral, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
First off I made its recipe by my self if if I can do it so can you. Follow blandinas instructions simmer on medium heat for 15 to 20 min wait until it is thick. It will start to glob up on the side of the dish that's when you really need to stir or it will burn and become chewy. After that spread out in a pan until it is room temp now tool in toppings I used crushed almonds, powdered sugar, salt, and crushed chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This is a great, simple dessert! I really enjoy making them, but my family enjoys, even more, to eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah Doolittle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I had absolutely no problems when I made these with my preschool class during our study of South America. The kids whisked together the milk and cocoa, then I added the butter and cooked the mixture over medium heat, stirring constantly. It took about 10 minutes for it to get thick and pull away from the bottom of the pot. Then I cooked it for a few more minutes to let the caramel flavor develop. Next I scooped the mixture out into a bowl, spread it out a bit, and put it in the freezer to cool. It took about 30 min. to cool, then we were able to roll the balls. We did not need to coat our hands - it was not overly sticky. The kids got to choose which sprinkles they wanted to roll in. A big hit! ps - we used unsweetened cocoa only - the sweetness was perfect. Can't imagine wanting these any sweeter :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I added hot chocolate mix, it was nice and chocolatey!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
These are great and fun to make! The recipe is spot on about how many it makes, I got 21 little balls of chocolate goodness from it. I did greese a plate and put it in the freezer for a while to get the cocolate to harden, next time it will be between two sheets of plastic as it stuck to the plate. Also discovered that instead of rolling this in something you can wrap it around pieces of fruit and whole nuts to make delicious suprises! I used strawberries, almonds and peanuts and then rolled the balls in icing sugar! They were a HUGE hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I grew up in Brazil and remember all the birthday parties with these delicious treats! I felt so lucky to get the recipe from my grandmother before she passed. The only difference to this recipe from my grandmother's is that she would also add in a tablespoon of strong coffee. This gives it a wonderful extra bit of flavor. My favorite treat of all time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Easy recipe yo follow. I followed suggestions to use hot cocoa mix and it turned out great. It's like a homemade tootsie roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by guardami
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
The first time I made this recipe, I had never eaten a brigadeiro. I had just learned that our family would be moving to Brazil for 4 years, and eager to get into the spirit of it all I researched recipes and decided to make these. They were disappointing: dry, crumbly, too sweet. I couldn't imagine what the fuss was all about. I've now been here 3 years and eaten dozens. Here are my tips: 1. DO NOT OVERCOOK. Combine ingredients, cook over low-ish heat, stir constantly, and turn off the heat the very second the mixture comes together and pulls away from the pan when you tilt it. IMMEDIATELY turn out into a buttered bowl. It will seem undercooked and too liquidy; it's not. 2. Let cool to room temperature before proceeding. Butter your hands, roll and dip into sprinkles. They will be very mushy. The sprinkles and the mini paper cups are in fact what help the brigadeiro retain it's round shape. When you bite into them they should be soft and caramel-y but not chewy. Overcooking by even a minute will ruin them. 3. Sprinkles: chocolate jimmies are the most common here. You can do better. High-end brigadeiro places will roll them in Callebaut dark chocolate flakes for a "meio amargo" (bittersweet) flavor -- see photo of one I made today . Kids love rainbow sprinkles, but use the tiniest little ball ones. Pistachios ground to a powder make an AMAZING brigadeiro. Or serve them poured into mini shot glasses and topped with sprinkles, and serve with a tiny spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States