Brie's Banana and Honey Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I am the original submitter of this recipe. THE RECIPE WAS SUBMITTED WITH USE ONE CUP OF WATER, ADDING A LITTLE MORE AT A TIME AS NEEDED ~ These dog biscuits require the use of Wheat flour which some dogs are sensitive to, if so its so easy to modify this recipe, simply substitute one cup of wheat flour for 1-1/4 cup of rye or oat flour or ¾ cup, rice, barley or potato flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I made these today and my puppy loves them! I didn't roll mine out rather I dropped them like bisquits. What a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
They must taste really good because my dog loves them, however, the dough was super sticky and I never did get it to the point of being able to roll it like cookie dough. I even added more flour.I just had to drop the dough on the cookie sheet and press each one down to make them somewhat flat. Also, they didn't get as hard as the recipe noted.- I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
The treats are excellent, and our dog loves them. However, as noted by several reviewers, the amount of liquid appears excessive. I would recommend starting out with one cup of water, then adding more as needed to bring the dough to a consistency for kneading and cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I wasn't too impressed with this recipe. The dough came out VERY sticky, and after baking and drying the treats, my dog really wasn't too impressed with them. It was a good idea, but a bad recipe. There is a peanut butter/banana treat recipe here that is MUCH better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Haven't made these but something similar. You can sweeten with dates too. I would use about 2 to 4 dried, fine chopped dates in this recipe. They are great for your hound because they are packed with minerals and vitamins. My girls like just eating dates too for a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I'm really sorry, I don't normally rate anything a 1, but this recipe was a disaster. Like jlantz said, the dough NEVER set-nowhere near being able to roll it out. I ended up having to add flour and oatmeal to get even close to to being able to roll, and even then, it stuck terribly to my counter. There was no way to even shape many of the pieces. 2 things kept me from throwing out the entire batch - the dogs enjoyed the flavor (and I have to say it wasn't too bad) and the guilt I would have felt wasting that much flour. I've made many different dog treat recipes over the years, but this is one that I will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Byron, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
My two Jack Russell Terrier boys love this treat recpie !! Good ingredients, too. Will definitely be baking these again in the future. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Amazing!!!! My dog and the neighbor's dog loved them!!!!. I agree with the rest though, the dough was really hard to work with. The next time I do this I will only add 1Cup of water. Other than that very good!! My dog loves it when I put peanut butter on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtecgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
My dogs LOVE them! Easy to make. I even tried one. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States