Brie's Banana and Honey Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I am the original submitter of this recipe. THE RECIPE WAS SUBMITTED WITH USE ONE CUP OF WATER, ADDING A LITTLE MORE AT A TIME AS NEEDED ~ These dog biscuits require the use of Wheat flour which some dogs are sensitive to, if so its so easy to modify this recipe, simply substitute one cup of wheat flour for 1-1/4 cup of rye or oat flour or ¾ cup, rice, barley or potato flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Haven't made these but something similar. You can sweeten with dates too. I would use about 2 to 4 dried, fine chopped dates in this recipe. They are great for your hound because they are packed with minerals and vitamins. My girls like just eating dates too for a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I made these today and my puppy loves them! I didn't roll mine out rather I dropped them like bisquits. What a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
They must taste really good because my dog loves them, however, the dough was super sticky and I never did get it to the point of being able to roll it like cookie dough. I even added more flour.I just had to drop the dough on the cookie sheet and press each one down to make them somewhat flat. Also, they didn't get as hard as the recipe noted.- I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
My two Jack Russell Terrier boys love this treat recpie !! Good ingredients, too. Will definitely be baking these again in the future. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I wasn't too impressed with this recipe. The dough came out VERY sticky, and after baking and drying the treats, my dog really wasn't too impressed with them. It was a good idea, but a bad recipe. There is a peanut butter/banana treat recipe here that is MUCH better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
The treats are excellent, and our dog loves them. However, as noted by several reviewers, the amount of liquid appears excessive. I would recommend starting out with one cup of water, then adding more as needed to bring the dough to a consistency for kneading and cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Recipe is great , however would anyone know the storage details on these biscuits? How long I can keep in the fridge/freezer in an air tight container ? I will be making a large batch in advance and wanted to know how long they stay fresh etc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This recipe is super easy and makes TONS of treats...DOZENS. I used the recipe for neighbor Christmas gifts. The only problem I found was the same as everyone else. I only used half of the water the recipe called for and it was still too wet. But I just kept added flour as I kneaded the dough and they came out perfect. i will definitely use this recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
These were so much fun to make. I made a double batch and bagged them for each of the neighborhood pups for Christmas. I've been asked several times for the recipe so I know they were a hit. My 2 Boston Terriers loved them. I rolled them a bit thinner and used a very small, bone-shaped cutter. Adorable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flour Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States