Brie en Croute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This is one of the most elegant, and easy appetizers there is. I have been making this for years. I took a tip from someone else and before baking, put it wrapped well in foil and freezer bag and froze it. Then when I baked it (a little longer) the cheese did not run out of the crust as it can do sometimes. There are many different variations on the fruit/nut mixture and the preserves/jam, I've done apricot preserves, raspberry jam, used walnuts instead of almonds, hazelnuts, the list is endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
If nothing else, timing and presentation are worth 5 stars. However, if you believe you eat first with your eyes, then this is truly a remarkably delicious crowd pleaser. My daughter's neighborhood has a wine tasting get together 4 times a year and this past weekend she was the hostess for the event. We found this recipe and decided that on looks alone it would get a good review. It was wonderful! I can't tell you how many copies we've made of this recipe to give to the party goers who raved over it. Deliciously gorgeous, very easy prep. Can't ask for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I've been making this for over 10 years, and yes, it's always a hit! Because I like to have a table of several appertisers, I usually make this with the smaller triangle shaped Brie and using a 1/2 sheet of pastry. At times I havn't used the parsley, but just the sheet of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I have been making this for years and always spoon Apricot Preserves over the top when I first take it out of the oven and sprinkle chopped roasted pecans, diced dried cheries and apricot pieces for a spectacular presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Step #3 will clarify your confusion. This is baked in the oven for 20 minutes - then you let it stand for 1 hour before serving. That adds up to 1 Hr. & 20 min. before it would be ready to be served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Very good. I actually didn't have parsley, so used a small amount of fresh rosemary. My finished recipe didn't look like the one in the picture - and there was no mention on how they achieved that effect. I had watched Paula Dean make one with raseberry jam and walnuts. So I made one of each. I followed her technique of pulling up the corners of the dough and basically tying it at the top. Very pretty - like a present. Backed both for 30 minutes. Liked the raseberry recipe better, but think the savory one has potential with a little experimentation - maybe thyme would be good. As I said, it looked different, more like a purse that had "relaxed". But nice and everyone enjoyed both of them. Very easy - will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Second time I made this was in a hurry and used Craisins, gosh quick easy and so so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyous

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This turned out great! It was a hit at our family gathering. I did not alter the recipe. I had left over puff pastry that I used to wrap little smokies. It worked fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I rated this recipe so high because it was so incredibly easy to make, even for me! I was worried it wouldn't look good when it came out of the oven, but it did - looked nice and shiny (I'm assuming from the egg wash over it). I am not crafty so I ended up just using a cookie cutter and cut a shape out of the excess dough and putting that on the top, instead of making a bow or something - the cookie cutter way worked great and was super easy! My only thing: I think once it was out of the oven, I let it sit too long (I thought it was an hour, but might have been more) so when we cut into it, it was just light a normal round of brie...not "oozing" like it said it should...and the parsley & almonds were at the top, exactly where I had put them...not all mixed in...it was good, but maybe could have used a bit more flavour, which is why I did 4 stars and not 5...It was tasty & we ate it quickly but it felt it may have been missing something, I just don't know what...However, I am making it again in 1 week for friends & I'll just do the exact same thing & not let it sit too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I did not like the cheese..I had never had it before and since I love cheese I thought I would like it. My family enjoyed it though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nedra Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Sausage & Stuffing Criss-Cross Pastry

See how to make an elegant stuffed puff pastry main dish!

Apple Pie Spirals

These tasty apple morsels are an elegant alternative to traditional pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States